The Sixth Man – Episode 40

Compassionate Dr. Haverston

“You killed a fellow soldier,” Haverston said.

“Where?” Wilson said.

“Vietnam,” Haverston said.

Wilson slowly shook his head. “Let me guess, you built your career on proving amnesia doesn’t exist and I stand in the way of your theory. Sorry for the inconvenience.”

“You should go now,” Haverston said.

“Yeah,” Wilson said sarcastically, “I sure don’t want to convince you otherwise.”

“I can’t help you if you don’t want to be helped,” Haverston said.

“Helped!” Wilson said. “I’ve traveled half the country looking for something anything and you say I don’t want help.”

“You have found yourself in a little jam,” Haverston said. “I’m going to say it’s some sort of civil action or a nasty divorce that you’re about to lose half your businesses and this little scheme got you out of a mess a few years ago so you thought of trying it again.”

“Why wasn’t I convicted?” Wilson said stepping closer.

“No one to actually testify against you,” Haverston said. “The only witnesses were the enemy and it was impossible to summons them.”

“So you testified I did not suffer from amnesia,” Haverston said, “and somebody had to testify I did and they must have been more compelling.”

“There was a strange vibe going on in the country at the time,” Haverston said. “Killing another soldier was like saving 10 lives of the enemy. Some people looked on you as a hero. The prosecution could have had another dozen psychologists testify against you, the defense would have found a dozen to say you were suffering from amnesia.”

“It must have been embarrassing,” Wilson said and stepped back toward the door. “Just one thing, what was the name of the psychologists who testified for me?”

“I can’t remember his name,” Haverston said.

“I would expect as much,” Wilson said.

“You likely think of me as being uninterested in the plight of those who claim memory loss,” Haverston said, “but let me assure you I am compassionate and care, so much so that I tell the truth even though the truth is unpopular and hard to bear.”

Haverston paused. Wilson stared.

“Your lawyers name was Burton Parnell,” Haverston said. “He was from Wyoming or Montana; took the case for the publicity. Other than that you will have to go to the Army for my notes and records.”

“Thanks,” Wilson said. He stepped out of the office and immediately stepped back in. “Haverston, how do you know I have businesses?”

“A lot of people have businesses,” Haverston said.

“Yes,” Wilson said, “but you said businesses. You already knew I had more than one business. You’ve been in contact with Abernathy.”

“I don’t know an Abernathy,” Haverston said.

“Of course you don’t,” Wilson said.

4 comments

Blather away, if you like.

