The Sixth Man – Episode 37

CounselingOffice[1]Meeting Dr. Haverston

The waiting room was comfortable and soft looking with light blue walls and various shades of pastel furniture. Wilson filled out a questionnaire and handed it to the receptionist.

“The doctor will see you shortly,” she said.

Wilson smiled and sat down. A few minutes later he was led into Dr. Haverston’s office. It was lined with shelves of books and interesting souvenirs and trinkets. Two leather chairs sat at forty-five degree angels from each other with a mahogany end table between the chairs.

Haverston shook Wilson’s hand. “Mr. Joseph, have a seat and make yourself comfortable. Would you like coffee, tea, or perhaps a soft drink. I know it’s early for a soft drink, but some people don’t mind.”

“I’m fine, thank you,” Wilson said.

“So I see, Mr. Joseph, you have amnesia,” Haverston said. “Have you been diagnosed.”

“No,” Wilson said. “It doesn’t take a doctor to tell me that I don’t know who I am.”

“Have you tried to find out?” Haverston said.

“Actually,” Wilson said. “I know what my name and what I am, but except for the last few months I have no memory. For a couple of months I’ve been able to reconnect with old friends and family, but you could tell me you’re my older brother and I’d have to believe you. It is very complicated. There seems to be a couple of layers of amnesia. When I peel one back there is another.”

“Are you sure it’s nothing organic?” Haverston said. “Have you been to a medical doctor?”

“No,” Wilson said. “Thus far I have been able to find some things out about me that leads be to conclude my problem is some sort of psychological trauma.”

“Can you tell me what it is?” Haverston said.

“That’s why I’m here,” Wilson said. “I was hoping you could help.”

“I may be able to help,” Haverston said. “I’ve had some experience in this area, but may I say from the beginning that most cases of amnesia are not. I’m going to be truthful some fake amnesia to avoid consequences of a previous bad act. It usually evolves possible prosecution for a crime, but I see you are here on your own volition., so can we eliminate that?”

“I don’t know,” Wilson said.

“Suppose you tell me a little about what you do know about yourself,” Haverston said.

“At this point there is not much to tell,” Wilson said, “but I would like to know about your experience with amnesia victims. That seems fair. If you don’t mind me saying you already have some doubt about amnesia. If I went to a doctor with an infection and the doctor thought they were the result of a wicked spirits I could hardly expect a cure, wouldn’t you agree? So could I have some of your background.”

“Sure, “I’m not offended in the least. Let me tell you a little of my background.”

“I’m sure it’s interesting,” Wilson said.

2 Comments

Blather away, if you like.

