The Sixth Man – Episode 35

e4981101-6b2a-41b5-a618-5bd5e33cc50a[1]First Things First

The next day Wilson came back to Marti’s home and knocked on the door. She invited him in. Lynn sat a the kitchen table.

“It’s a nice day,” Wilson said to Lynn. “Would you like to take a walk?”

Lynn looked at Marti.

“I think you should,” Marti said.

“It’s a cold day and I think it’s going to rain,” Lynn said.

“That’s a good day to talk,” Wilson said.

They walked from the home down a long street with mobile homes on both sides.

“I don’t know what to do about this,” Wilson said.

“You can just go,” Lynn said.

“I can’t,” Wilson said. “I owe you and your mom a lot.”

“We’re fine?” Lynn said. “I got a good job and Mom’s all set to retire. She’s got a lot put back.”

“That’s not what I mean,” Wilson said. “I didn’t sleep last night. I thought about you and your mom all night long. I ran out on you. I don’t remember it, but I did. Sure I could write a check, but nothing goes away, not for me anyway and I don’t think for you either.”

“I’m a little resentful Mom didn’t tell me the truth at least sometime before I started getting sympathy form everybody about my dead father in Sweden,” Lynn said.

“She did the best she could,” Wilson said. “Was it better for you to have a father killed in a car accident in Sweden or one who was a nut job and ran off? And who knows maybe your mom wanted to believe that also.”

“I was awake all night too,” Lynn said. “I don’t know where to begin to process this stuff. I sat there last night listening to you talk and trying to make you my father, trying to feel a bond and there was nothing.”

“There is something churning in my brain right now, Lynn,” Wilson said, “and I don’t know what it is. I don’t know whether it’s good or bad. It’s just something. Have you ever had that, Lynn, have you ever had that?”

“Yes,” Lynn said.

“Multiply that times a thousand,” Wilson said. “But out of this bubbling caldron in my head is one coherent thought. It speaks louder and more profound than a bolt of lightning; I love that woman back in that mobile home and the child she had. I can’t explain it no more than I can predict where the next bolt of lightning will strike. This is between me and you, because you need this, your mom doesn’t I’ve left her in pain and agony once and I won’t do it again. Don’t tell her how I feel about you or her.”

As they continued to walk Lynn placed her hand in Wilson’s and her face contorted with a sorrowful joy. She laid her head against his shoulder.

“I think I could walk forever,” Lynn said.

Wilson smiled. “Let’s walk on around the park and we’ll go to Mom’s”

“You’ll never know how badly I wanted to hear those words,” Lynn said.

They walked a talked for a while.

“When are you going to leave?” Lynn said.

“I have to find Haverston,” Wilson said. “And I got to know where everything fits. I have two other children that I know I love, but no matter how much I love them I’m putting you first.”

“I don’t want them to resent me,” Lynn said.

“Things will work out,” Wilson said. “I’ll stick around for a few more days, but I got to get to Houston and see Haverston.”

2 comments

Blather away, if you like.

