The Sixth Man – Episode 33

viski-bokal-butylka-napitok[1]Get The Bottle

“He was killed in Vietnam,” Marti said, “and you had trouble dealing with it.”
“Did I try to drink it away?” Wilson said.
“No,” Marti said. “You tried to think it away. That’s all you thought about.”
“I don’t remember anything like that,” Wilson said, “and why would that have such a terrible effect on me?”
A tear trickled down Marti’s cheek. “Wilson, you were with him when he was killed.”
Matter-of-factly, Wilson shrugged. “I don’t remember.”
“It was troubling for you,” Marti said. “I was even afraid then that you might take your life over it.”
“There must be more to it,” Wilson said. “Is there/”
“Yes,” Marti said. “You were under investigation and being treated.”
Wilson sunk into his chair. “Tell me everything.”
“You were under the care of an Army psychologist,” Marti said.
“That’s an oxymoron,” Wilson said.
“Butch,” Marti said. “Get Wilson a drink – from the cabinet.”
Butch went into the kitchen, poured whisky into a glass, and handed it to Wilson.
“Thanks,” Wilson said and tossed a swig of whisky in his mouth.
“You better get me one too,” Marti said.
Butch retrieved four glasses of whiskey and handed them out. “I’m tired of running around like a waitress.”
The all sipped.
“Are you ready for this? Marti said.
Wilson slowly nodded and sipped. His eyes were clear and focused on Marti.
Marti became rigid. “You picked me up after work one night and we drove to my place. You told me you were about to be dishonorably discharged and the a psychologists had helped you come to grips with killing your best friend, Charles Arnold.”
“Why wasn’t I convicted?” Wilson said.
“What you said to the psychologist was privileged,” Marti said. “A couple of days later you dropped by and said you had been honorably discharged. You said you had some thinking to do and you would be back in a few days. That was the last I saw you until today.”
“Do you know the psychologist’s name?” Wilson said. “He might be able to help.”
“I don’t think so,” Marti said. “You hated his guts. While you were seeing him you said he had you confused about everything. You said you doubted every emotion and good thing that ever happened to you. You said he had made you think you were incapable of love or relationships.”
“Is that why I left, Marti?” Wilson said.
“I think so,” Marti said.
“And I adopted the name of my friend, Charles Arnold,” Wilson said. “That’s the name I’ve been using sense I left the Army.”
Wilson looked compassionately at Marti. “Were we in love?”
“Yes,” Marti said.
Wilson buried his face in his hands.
“Get the bottle, Donnie,” Marti said. “We aren’t done yet.”

4 Comments

Filed under Short Stories

4 responses to “The Sixth Man – Episode 33

  1. vrein11

    OH my goodness!! What a turn of events! Keep em comin!! Can you just send some extras out now??!! Like again today and tomorrow! I don’t want to wait til Friday!!!

  2. I have a trick…I read three at a time so I don’t have to wait so long between each entry. LOL

Blather away, if you like.

