The Sixth Man – Episode 30

DIGITAL CAMERAWilson Meets Marti

Les Refroe and Wilson sat across the street from the bar on a street in a mobile home park. They were shielded by another car from direct view of the parking lot of the bar. They arrived about 15 minutes before 5:00 PM.

“If police show up they will never be too early,” Les said.

“I don’t see any unmarked cars or suspicious looking guys,” Wilson said.

“They may be inside,” Les said. “I’m going to go have a beer and wait until dad comes along. Wait here I’ll be back in fifteen or twenty minutes. If you see police cars or what looks like plain clothed police drive my car slowly, turn left, and then right at the light. Drive a mile and pull into the first business on the right and wait.”

Les climbed out of the car, trotted across the street, and walked nonchalantly into the bar.

At 5:00 exactly a late model car pulled into the parking lot of the bar; two men were in the front seat and two women in the back. The men were dressed too casual to be police officers. They looked like construction workers.

Wilson slipped out of the car and looked for other cars. He trotted across the street. He approached the car with the two women in the back seat. Wilson again scanned for suspicious looking cars. He grabbed the door handle to the front seat passenger’s side. He jerked it open and fell into the seat.

The women gasp. The one woman was the one from behind the bar earlier. The other was older likely her mother.

“All I want to know is if you know me,” Wilson said. “And nothing else. I don’t want to harm anyone or cause any trouble.”

The younger girl grabbed for the door handle.

“No,” the older woman said. “I believe him. Let’s go inside and settle this.”

“You have two guys in there,” Wilson said. “And I got two guys in there. I don’t trust you any more than you trust me.”

“They’re my sons,” the older woman said. “Nothing will happen, Wilson, you can trust me.”

“You know me, don’t you?” Wilson said.

“Yeah,” the older woman said, “you could say that. My name is Marti and this is my daughter, Lynn.”

“Anything you can tell me will help,” Wilson said. “I just need directions and I’ll be gone, you’ll never see me again.”

Marti looked away. Lynn laid her hand on Marti’s arm.

“Are you all right?” Wilson said. “Look, if this brings back something painful to you, I’m sorry. I don’t want to hurt anyone.”

Marti starred out the window.

“Is it better that I leave?” Wilson said.

“Not this time,” Marti said.

“What!” Wilson said.

“What do you mean, mom?” Lynn said.

“Let’s get Donnie and Butch,” Marti said.

“Maybe I should just go,” Wilson said.

“You don’t have to worry,” Marti said. “But let’s all talk.”

 

2 comments

  1. oh dear. That was a complicated meeting wasn’t it? Wonder what is going to happen with this one??!! old lover?? Old partner?? why did he leave her?? The suspense!!!!!

Blather away, if you like.

