A Miserable Childhood

Adult Visions

As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?

When a child I thought all decisions my parents made that did not conform to my world-view was selfishness on their part. Decisions made contrary to my view were made for the soul purpose of making my life miserable. I suspected parents wanted nothing more for their children than to have a dull and miserable childhood.  I thought the decision making process started with, ‘what will make him the most miserable’ and mom and dad worked there way back from there.

As an adult having three children I can confirm all of the above as true.

 

10 Comments

Filed under Essays

10 responses to “A Miserable Childhood

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Adult Visions | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Roger

    You are way too honest. I echo the confirmation.

  3. But then may be because the world outside is even more miserable! Isn’t it the preparation phase? Preparing for a stronger self..I am sure the heart of a parent is kind enough 🙂

  4. Ha ha ha! Wait, what?! I’ve been doing parenting wrong all these years?!

Blather away, if you like.

