SPLAT!

Yeah, it happens.
Yeah, it happens.

Fearless Fantasies

How would your life be different if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would your life be better or worse than it is now?

If that were the case one would have to have and incredible grasp of logic. I think fear is the imagination produced by logic. The imagination takes over after logic brings you to a certain possible conclusion.

To illustrate: I don’t fear heights, or falling. So I will sky dive or bungee jump. It will be thrilling. The chances of something happening are so small they are unlikely. The parachute may not open and bungee chord may break or be too long.  I will die. There will be no pain. I will not miss anything because I will be dead. The thrill and accomplishment is worth it all.

On the other hand, SPLAT! My body will be a mangled mess. I have so many other important things to look forward to do. I haven’t seen Rome. Two more payments and the car is mine. The lottery numbers will be announced tonight. I want to see the next season of Downton Abbey. Why are thrills and near death experiences so important to me? Why doesn’t life fulfill me?

Fear comes down to possible failure. And there is nothing wrong with counting the cost and assessing the risk, although remote, and decide to allow a healthy and reasoned fear dictate ones life.

4 Comments

Blather away, if you like.

