Be A Clown

thJOLN8J63Roaring Laughter

What was the last thing that gave you a real, authentic, tearful, hearty belly laugh? Why was it so funny?

I couple of weeks ago there was a man and woman panhandling on street corner. That is not funny. But they had painted sad clown faces. I drove by and had to pull over a  block further. I was reckless with laughter. I know it’s pathetic to laugh at people in such dire circumstances they beg for money.

I imagined a conversation.

“Two hours looking like a clown and no money,” she said.

“That’s not my fault,” he said.

“I thought you were in charge of marketing,” she said. “Didn’t you do any market research?”

“What’s to research?” he said.

“Clowns are creepy,” she said.

“They’re funny,” he said

“No they’re not,” she said. “You look creepy.”

“So do you,” he said.

“Just a bad idea,” she said.

“Haven’t you heard the song, Be A Clown,” he said and started singing, “‘Be a clown, be a clown, all the world loves a clown?”

“No, and I think you just made that up,” she said.

“No it’s a real song,” he said.

“Next time I’m in charge of market research,” she said.

“And I do the faces,” he said. “I think we have all the right ingredients to make a killing, but our execution is off.  We just have the wrong people doing the right things wrong.”

Any way, it was funny in my head.

 

 

8 comments

  1. I haven’t liked clowns since my babysitter let me watch “IT” when I was 8 or 9. Can I ask… where did they get the money for clown costumes? Very random LOL

Blather away, if you like.

