A Chevette Odyssey In Michigan

thBWLI3GMHWrong Turns

When was the last time you got lost? Was it an enjoyable experience, or a stressful one? Tell us all about it.

I have a friend who says, “How can I be lost, I have plenty of gas?”

Well, there was this time in the late 70s we (wife, 3 children, and me) were vacationing on a shoestring budget. Come to think of it, we couldn’t afford shoestrings. We had a pop-up Coleman camper and pulled it with a Chevette. That’s right, the car Detroit and GM forgot.

I was so afraid of breaking down on a four lane and leaving my family stranded and being miles from an exit I thought it would be best to take two-lane state highways. It’s how America used to travel, which explains why American stayed at home for the holidays before the interstates.

I don’t know how it happened, but after a couple of wrong turns I ended up on a dirt lane in the middle of an apple orchard in southern Michigan. The interstate I so desperately tried to avoid was no more than 25 yards away. I managed to free myself and family from the prism of the orchard and were soon on our way to the Lake Michigan eastern shore.

We had a wonderful 2 weeks. I drove the interstate on our way home. As we passed the apple orchard I said, “That place looks familiar.”

5 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompt

5 responses to “A Chevette Odyssey In Michigan

  1. I drove a Chevette for quite a while; it was great fun!

  2. My first car was a used Chevette and there was this wet smell i could never get out of it. Being a “Mitten” girl I can almost visualize where you were at….I know of an apple orchard near the freeway in Southern Michigan near Saugatuck and South Haven 🙂

  3. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Dreaming Of Darkness Retreating” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Blather away, if you like.

