Not My Taste

Picky Tongues

You have to choose one flavor that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish. Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, umami, spicy (not a taste per se, but we’re generous): which one do you choose to lose?

The last two weeks I’ve been absent from the Daily Prompt. I’ve been working on a website in an alternative universe; stop and render an opinion if you like.

The prompts have been weird lately or that may be just the way I perceive them. It’s likely me.  But this one sounds particularly so. Where did it come from? Here’s my guess:

Scene One

The year is 1968, four college students are crowded in a dorm room. They just dropped acid.

One says, “Hey, Moondog, (In group of 4 hippies one always had the name Moondog) You have to choose one flavor that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish. Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, umami, spicy (not a taste per se,) which one do you choose to lose?”

Moondog stares into space. “Man, you can really get creative on this stuff.”

Scene Two

Juan, a drug cartel leader (All Juans are natural born leaders, especially evil ones.) has just found an informant in his organization. The informant, Manuel (the informant is always Manuel) is strapped to a chair in the middle of an empty warehouse in Miami.

“So, Manuel, what do happen to sneetches?” the Juan says.

“I donno,” Manuel says. “You da boss. You smart man, come up with ideas.”

Juan smiles cruelly.  “I give you choice. You have to choose one flavor that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish. Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, umami, spicy (not a taste per se, but we’re generous): which one do you choose to lose? Better yet, I just cut your tongue out!”

 

7 comments

  1. Glad my test comment went through. Had a friend work on my computer, so maybe I might not have that problem again (comments that didn’t post). I think your post was hilarious…but you did not answer the question. I don’t know which I’ll choose yet, but spent half an hour researching umami…didn’t know much about it. And I am on “u” for my alphabet challenge. So thanks to Ben I have my topic for today. Ok, did I blather enough. Now I’ll go blather on my own post. I’ll probably finish later today.

  2. So this is the first fictional story I am reading with this topic and I must say that this is impressive. I like the pun with names: they are brilliant 🙂
    Thanks for sharing, keep up the great work!

    • Thanks, I used to try and write fiction for each prompt, but it sometimes took so long for and idea to germinate I found that I thought most of the morning away.

Blather away, if you like.

