The Kewpee, Lima, Ohio

Kewpee, original location, downtown Lima, Ohio.
Kewpee, original location, downtown Lima, Ohio.

City Planners

If you could clone one element from another city you’ve visited — a building, a cultural institution, a common street food, etc. — and bring it back to your own hometown, what would it be?

My current hometown is Boise, Idaho. It is a good town, a fair city, a city with many things and if those things don’t exist in that city they are not worth having. There is, though, this one exception. It is something all other cities lack, but one – Lima, Ohio, my former hometown.  It has a place that if it has to be explained you would not understand it.

Inside the Kewpee, downtown, Lima. I look at this and almost come to tears: from the onions on my hamburger of course.
Inside the Kewpee, downtown, Lima. I look at this and almost come to tears: from the onions on my hamburger of course.

It has the Kewpee. It’s a hamburger restaurant (joint). It creates the best hamburger ever.  I know ya’ll have some greasy spatula hole-in-the-wall joint tucked away between the old movie theater that is now the Foursquare Gospel Revival Church and Jasper’s Second Hand Furniture, Appliances, and Tarot Card Reading Shop. And ya swear there’s nothing better. Well that’s okay. We all have a place like that.

The Kewpee in Lima has been a part of Lima all my life. It had only one location when I was a kid. It was a treat to go there. I went there when I started roaming the streets as a kid. It’s full of incredible memories. The guy who pressed out the burgers on the grill when I was a kid was doing the same thing when I brought my kids in for a burger.

Anyway I’d like to clone that place and move it about a block from my house.

Here’s a link to another post I made about the Kewpee and one about my Kewpee coffee cup.

Here is the link to my short story for the day, Family Pub, it is in episode 3.

7 comments

  1. We had a Kewpee in Toledo as well. It was near the museum, which is a place I would clone and move to Troy NY if I could pull it off..Well, that and the Schrafft’s Drugstore in the Commodore Perry Hotel where we read all the Classic Comics for free while waiting to transfer to the Maumee bus to get home from art classes at the Museum. Jesus, we did that at nine years old with no parents looking over our shoulders, no parents arrested for neglect, and no one having a hissy fit.

Blather away, if you like.

