Average Movie Goers

thJQBP382HPeter sat morosely on the balcony looking out over the city. He was trapped in middle management and unless he came up with a spectacular idea it was likely his company would pass over him for advancements until he became bored and unproductive and eventually create a cause to let him go.

His wife June met him on the balcony with a cup of hot tea.

“What troubles you, my dear?” June said. “You look as if you don’t have a friend in the world.”

“Do you remember when we met?” Peter said.

“Yes,” June said, “11 years ago this October. It was at a luncheon with friends. You’re not regretting that are you?”

“No, of course not,” Peter said, “but do you remember what my job was?”

“Yes,” June said, “You were in charge of exports for your firm.”

“That’s right,” Peter said, “exports. You’d think I would have moved on to imports or something. I’ve been in exports since day one. All I do is make sure something gets from here to there. Seventeen years is a long time.”

“But you must be good at it,” June said.

“It’s all I know,” Peter said. “I’m not even sure what our company does anymore. I assume they‘re doing the same thing they did when I started. Don‘t you think that‘s a terrible thing?”

“What are you driving at?” June said.

“I have become a boring person,” Peter said. “Our friends lead exciting lives and challenging jobs.”

“Do you want to go to a movie tonight?” June said making an attempt to take his tea.

“No,” Peter said.

“I think it would be good, you need some sort of diversion,” June said.

“Going to movies makes me sad. It lets me know how uneventful and meaningless my life really is,” Peter said.

“How do you get that from going to a movie?” June said. “Let me take your cup, please.”

“You ever notice how the good guy never loses a fight even if it’s against a guy much bigger than him? Peter said. “Good always triumphs over evil… No thanks, I want the tea.”

“That makes for a good story,” June said and stopped struggling to take the cup.

“I’m a good guy,” Peter said. “I’ve never hurt anyone, but I’ve never been in a fight I’ve won. The bad guy, the bully has always won.”

“Well maybe someday…” June said.

“No!” Peter said. “I don’t want to try to test the theory again. I’m a good beating away from permanent brain damage.”

“They can’t have the hero losing,” June said.

“Yes they can!” Peter said. “At least he’d be my hero.”

“It’s just entertainment,” June said.

“The main character walks in a crowded room,” Peter says gesturing as if directing a scene, “and immediately he’s the center of attention. They even play special music for him. I could walk in the middle of a crowded room naked and somebody would hand me a plate of hors d’oeuvre and tell me to start serving.”

“You can’t make movies about average people,” June said.

“Why not?” Peter demanded. “We’re all average. I’d just like to see a movie made about people like me so I can know how average I am. I think we should revere and celebrate average!”

“People wont go to movies like that,” June said. “Why would we want to see our sad and miserable lives on the screen?”

“You have a way of making me feel better,” Peter said. “Now I’m ready for the movies.”

 

10 Comments

  1. Nice story. I think it’s very true that we all struggle with being average. No offense, but I think it’s more true of men than women. At least once they near middle age. Regardless of gender, I’ve yet to meet anyone still a youth who didn’t want to stand out and fit in, all at the same time.

Blather away, if you like.

