Class Reunion – Part 3

(Continued from yesterday.)

Just An Old Friend

“Robert,’ Peggy said. “You’ve probably have heard this a dozen times tonight, but you have not changed one bit.”

“Well,” Robert said. “Not in those exact words, but the sentiments were expressed in one fashion or another.”

“I remember you,” Peggy said. “There is something behind those words that are witty.”

“Yep,” Robert said.

“Robert,” Peggy said, “this is my husband Dan.”

They shook hands.

“So you’re the guy that broke my little Peggy’s heart,” Dan said.

“I have no idea what you’re talking about,” Robert said. “I… Oh yeah. I almost forgot. I was supposed to pick Peggy up and take her bowling with a few friends and my car broke down.”

“So it must have been true,” Peggy said.

“Sure it was true,” Robert said.

“You got to be kidding me,” Peggy said, “after all these years I thought you made that all up cause you didn’t want to go out with me.”

“Frankly,” Robert said, “I thought you sounded relieved I wasn’t coming.”

“That was my hard to get voice,” Peggy said.

They chatted for five minutes; laughing and reminiscing.

“Where is your wife?” Peggy said, “or are you alone.”

“Never been married and I’m alone,” Robert said, “but don’t feel sorry for me. I have a good life. I’m doing okay. I’m a business owner and Bernie Sarno wants me to hire him.”

They laughed.

“Look, Robert,” Dan said. “Peggy has said so many good things about you, I feel as if I know you.” He turned to Peggy. “Don’t you think my sister, Kate, and him would make a good couple?”

“Dan!” Peggy said, “that’s bold and rude, but they would make a good couple.”

“I’m fine,” Robert said. “Really, I appreciate it.”

“You’re not gay are you?” Peggy said.

“No,” Robert said.

“Peggy!” Dan said, “that’s not the kind of question you ask.”

“Well I was afraid I was the one who made him that way,” Peggy said.

“Which I’m not,” Robert added. “Let’s make sure that’s on record.”

“There’s some other people I want to catch up with,” Peggy said. “Do you mind visiting for a while on you own, but before the night is over perhaps we can go some place for a meal?”

“Sure,” Robert said, “but if you don’t see me don’t worry about it.”

“Don’t talk that way,” Dan said, “we would really like to spend some time with you.”

“What if I bring Tina O’Conner,” Robert nodded to the dance floor where Tina was dancing badly with one drink in her hand.

“I don’t think you will be able to get her off the dance floor,” Dan said.

“For a free meal I can,” Robert said.

“What did I tell you?” Peggy said. “Next to you, the funniest guy I know.”

“It was either me or Don Rickles,” Dan said.

Peggy and Dan blended into the crowd and Robert headed for the exit.

(Continued tomorrow.)

 

 

3 comments

  1. His class reunion is certainly going a lot better than mine ever did! LOL! Thanks for writing, it will be interesting to see where Robert ends up (I’m thinking at the other reunion…or maybe not…)

    • Very good. I could have constructed the story in such a way it would be more surprising, but sometimes I think it’s good for the reader to know the journey they being taken.
      Thanks for following along.

Blather away, if you like.

