Someone Weeps

thN1RG24ZZFinders, Keepers?

While walking on the beach you stumble on a valuable object buried in the sand — say, a piece of jewelry or an envelope full of cash. What do you do with it? Under what circumstances would you keep it?

I would give it to some local authority, like the police department, and that would be the end of it.  It is not mine, never was and never will be. If I should keep it and prosper from it, would the prosperity be truly mine if at the expense of the misfortune of another? Somebody is weeping and you’re happy and smiling?

If a friend who was with me should keep it for himself that is his conscience and I judge him not for keeping it.

This does not make me morally superior. It means I have reasoned in another manner. Certainly one could reason it does nobody any good in the sand and why not put if to good if for no one else but myself.

Here is my short store de jour. An it is about finding something or someone. Here’s the link Class Reunion – Part 1.

 

5 Comments

Blather away, if you like.

