Romancing Ted – Part 5

Conspiracy

(Continued from yesterday.)

There she was, Lisa. She walked slowly toward him

“Lisa,” Ted said. “Is that you?”

“Yes,” Lisa said. “It’s been a while.” She smiled.

“I see you got your braces removed,” Ted said.

“And I’m not in my flannels either,” Lisa said.

“I don’t know what to say,” Ted said.

“This is the most foolish thing I’d ever done,” Lisa said. “But let me explain.” She moved closer.

They hugged and Ted held her hands.

“When my father moved us I was sick for weeks,” Lisa said.

“Me too,” Ted said.

“But I thought about you every day,” Lisa said. “I wanted to come back here so many times, but was afraid of having my heart broken.”

Ted smiled and was almost driven to tears.

“After I left home I went to college and immersed myself into my studies and then my career,” Lisa said. “There was no time for romance. But I kept you tucked away in my thoughts. You were my romantic lead in all my fantasies. I wondered what you looked like and what you were doing.”

“Well,” Ted said. “College, married, divorced, one girl, and a junior high principle. That’s about it. What about you?”

“I’m a human resource director at a hospital in Denver,” Lisa said. Her eyes looked beyond Ted and over the pond.

“There is something more,” Ted said.

“A doctor has asked me to marry him,” Lisa said. “And I told him I had to have a week to think about it.”

“And that’s why you’re here,” Ted said confused.

“It does sound rather childish,” Lisa said. “But when I spoke with your mother, Arlene, she told me you were now single…”

“And lonely,” Ted interrupted.

“Yes,” Lisa said. “And I wanted to either close a chapter in my life and open a new one or go back and complete the one never finished.”

Ted was silent. His lips quivered as if he wanted to speak.

“Pretty stupid?” Lisa said.

“That last few days I have thought about nothing, but you,” Ted said. “Here’s something a little more stupid; call your doctor and tell him no.”

“I’ve did that before I left Denver,” Lisa said. “Now what do we do next?”

“Let’s have dinner someplace,” Ted said. “I’ll call my mom and tell her I’m eating out. After we eat I’d like to bring you by to meet my mother and daughter.”

“Your mother and I already met,” Lisa said.

“How long has this all been in the works?” Ted said.

“Your mother and I have talked all week,” Lisa said. “She picked me up at the airport.”

“I think this is going to be an interesting diner,” Ted said.

They walked toward Ted’s car.

“Where’s your car?” Ted said.

“I don’t have one,” Lisa said.

“How did you get out here?” Ted said.

“Mrs. Crowley drove me,” Lisa said.

The End

 

 

4 comments

Blather away, if you like.

