The Vocal Fry

Game of Groans

Think about an object, an activity, or a cultural phenomenon you really don’t like. Now write a post (tongue in cheek or not — your call!) about why it’s the best thing ever.

(This is all written as if spoken by a 17 year old girl (not my granddaughter) with a vocal fry.)

“Like, I think cell phones are way so cool. Especially when in the middle of a conversation with like whoever and it starts ringing, like why do we call it ringing? I have no clue and you pull it out and stop the conversation and like everybody’s is just like waiting for you to stop talking on the phone, like why is it called a phone? It’s like really a camera that you can talk over.  And like everybody wants you to get back to the conversation so, like they will die if you don’t tell them who your next bff is. By the way, what does that stand for? Then you get done and stick the phone back in your jeans, like why do they call it jeans? That name is so yesterday. And before I like say another syllable, like what is a syllable anyway, is that another word for sound? Another call comes in. I’m so incredibly popular I just have to answer.  Like, wow it’s my Mom. I think it’s cool, the name mom, because I got so many other names to remember, like mom is so easy. Like what does it mean anyway, is there another name….”

(Leave vocal fry 17 year old girl voice and go to grumpy old 60 plus year old male baritone voice.)

Here is the link to my short story for the day is Romancing Ted – Part 4.

16 comments

Blather away, if you like.

