Look At Me, The Skeptic

Mind Reader

Who’s the last person you saw before reading this prompt? Whether it’s a family member, a coworker, or a total stranger, write a post about what that person is thinking right now.

I looked in the mirror just after waking up. Me, that’s the person I saw.

I frequently post on a sports blog OBNUG. This week the writers, who manage the blog, started a numerical countdown for each player. It started with number 99. It’s about a player named Antoine Turner. He has an incredible story of how he found his way onto the Boise State Broncos football team. Here is the link to his story.

I’m skeptical of at least parts of the story. I posted as much on the comments section of the story on OBNUG.

“Caution: I want this all to be true, but a healthy dose of skepticism is good. Now you can hate what I’ve posted.”

I often find my way to the doghouse with the regular folks who post. I try to be funny, fair, and honest. It’s not always appreciated. I’m likely to appear in the doghouse again.

I think skepticism helps us grow. It may not always be appreciated. Skeptics are often wrong. But that’s me.

Here is my short story for the day, Part 3 of Romancing Ted.

11 Comments

  1. I think it is good that you are able to just say it like it is. When I feel some critiquing, I usually won’t say anything unless asked. It is a gift to be forthright, I believe.

    1. Thanks. I struggle with things that I’m not convinced about. I sort of put them out there to see how others feel and to be challenged by others to prove my veracity or lack out it.

      1. That is a great attribute. Some may not like it if they feel that what they write does not have substance behind it, others will appreciate the opportunity to expand and further validate their opinions.

  2. Well, you say you’re skeptical, but you don’t provide the portions of which you’re skeptical, nor your basis for such skepticism. Either that, or I missed it somewhere. In either case, how about providing something solid?

    1. Sure, Bob, I understand.
      The family of his girl friend took him in. Yet he is homeless. He is singing before a studio quality microphone. Everything seems scripted and organized. Yes, all these things can be explained. Skepticism does not have to be based of facts. They are just observations that may need further scrutiny Recall a nation believed a Notre Dame linebacker about a dying girl friend.

Blather away, if you like.

