Tap Tap Tap Tap Tap

Going Obsolete

Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

There are actually many that are missed.

Although I never want to return to using a typewriter, when typing there was a certain rhythm to it, as if it were trying to make a melody. The same was with the cashiers at grocery stores; dat, dat – dat, dat – daaah and so on. They were melodic rather than the beep, beep, beep, beep, “Please slide your card or stuff your cash in the slot.” (comparing Vivaldi to rap)  I liked the sound of the rotary phone.  I suppose if never growing up with those things younger ones have difficulty assessing what it means. Sometimes when watching an old black and white movie from the 50’s  I close my eyes and listen.  And I miss Fred Astaire, Gene Kelly, and Gregory Hines; replaced with what? Mily Cyrus – twerking! I’ll take tapping to bump and grind any day.

My short story today is about a new technology, texting; Some Things Are Lost In The Text.

22 Comments

      1. Lol! And: ‘Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of the party!” I miss the sounds of days gone by they were my youth.

  1. I taught myself to type on a manual typewriter, and I have a collection of manual typewriters. I also have a rotary phone, that if I could find a 4-prong to RJ-11 Adapter, still works.

    The original keyboard that IBM made for their computers was a mechanical keyboard that used a buckling spring mechanism. The whole reason they went that route was so the keys would click when pressed. It wasn’t until later that “noiseless” keyboards came about. Now, high-end keyboards are still made with mechanical switches that provide the same tactile feel and click of those original IBM keyboards, but with improved technology (Cherry mechanical switches). I personally have two such keyboards, both with Cherry Blue switches, which provide both the feel and sound. I hate it when I have to use a different keyboard.

  2. Ha. Blather away.

    I too miss the old cash registers. They melody of the cogs and the analog bells vs. the electronic/digital beeps. The the cacophony of all the registers at once. The sound in the distance of the gumballs dropping into the steel slides and the pennies and nickels being spun on those dials to get the gumballs.

    🙂

    Thanks.

    1. The gumball, yes, how sweet and relaxing that sound was.
      Here’s one I miss; walking into a department store with wooden floors and listening to the creaks in the boards.

  3. The scenes from movies where there were multiple newspersons typing, to me were like a symphony. And, yes, I miss those simple, thoughtful sounds. Maybe it’s because I felt like I could keep up and absorb what was happening.

Blather away, if you like.

