Some Things Are Lost In The Text

th[8]Bert received a text form Niles. “c u at 2 b ot.”

Bert called Niles. “I’m not clear on you text message.”

“It means, ‘See you at 2:00 PM and be on time.”

“Okay,” Bert said. “I just wanted to be sure.”

A few minutes later Bert received another text. “txt fno.”

Bert called Niles. “Has something changed?”

“No,” Niles said. “Why?”

“You texted me,” Bert said. “I was confused as to its meaning.”

“Text from now on,” Niles said.

“Oh,” Bert said. “Okay.”

A minute passed and Bert received another text, “lk 2 fish 2day net 2 tlk no b8.”

 

The next morning Bert saw Niles at the office.

“We lost the Harper contract,” Niles said. “No thanks to you.”

“I thought it was called off,” Bert said.

“I sent a text,” Niles said. “Like to finish today, but not enough time to talk, don’t be late.”

“I thought you said, ‘Like to fish today. Bring net and 2 tackle boxes and no bait.’”

“You idiot!” Niles said.

“Why don’t you just call me?” Bert said.

“It’s faster to text,” Niles said.

Bert pulled his cell phone from his pocket.

“What are you doing?” Niles said.

“Just a moment,” Bert said.

They waited.

“What is going on?” Nile said.

“Be patient,” Bert said.

They waited

Niles phone vibrated. “Let me get this.” It was a text from Bert. “8nt.”

“8 N T,” Niles said.

“Yeah,” Bert said. “You said text was faster and I texted to you it ain’t.”

“Ain’t is not a word!” Niles said.

“Neither is a text faster!” Bert said.

 

 

7 comments

  1. Haha. Very true. I still have to ask my kids to clarify their “text speak” for me. You’d think after 14 years of trying to teach me, they would just give up and call. 🙂

  2. Too true. But… is commenting on your stories over this computer faster than a text or a phone call? H-m-m-m?

Blather away, if you like.

