Beware of This Prompt

Reason to Believe

In Reason to Believe,, Bruce Springsteen sings, At the end of every hard-earned day / people find some reason to believe. What’s your reason to believe?

Like many lyrics they are meaningless and have very little content – “Baby, baby, baby.”

This prompt is so open… Believe in self, your writing, others, God, karma, etc?

Likely what we might grasp for in this exercise is what we most doubt exists. It gives an opportunity to fortify a weak assumption or belief. So to reiterate what will be chosen is what we doubt most.

We are in constant need of affirmation in all things we do. That’s why we seem to cluster to people who like us. They affirm in our minds our value and we reciprocate.

I believe Mr. Springsteen is selling recordings and empty ideas (and doing quite well, I may add).

Here is a link to a short story, The Brilliant Norman Sebastian. Everything he did was brilliant… at least that’s what he believed and others did also.

 

18 comments

  1. I won’t get into it. I recently met my boyhood music idol. I recognized him instantly. There was no one around except us and a handful of people lingering outside a store. He stood there. I was riding a bike.

    I remember lip-syncing and then belting out his songs at home and in the car and even at school at recess. I would pour over his lyrics like a poorly written symboligist in a pop-novel; looking and searching for meaning and understanding and fraternity in my current predicament.

    I then came to the same conclusion.

    Sell albums. Period.

    I turned by rented bike around and greeted him with respect and I offered my hand. Some part of me felt, I am sure of it now, that I needed to “touch” the hand that wrote those lyrics and played those notes in the specific order…

    They never live up.

    Why?

    Empty.

    I had stopped listening to his music a few years ago. I stopped listening when I realized that you can find meaning in anything if you want to. We seek and search for meaning in our lives. That’s great. It really is. But, I remind myself that I create that meaning. It is mine to create.

    Not the artist standing outside a lingerie store in a land far away.

    Me.

    Thanks for your post today.

    If anyone is still listening…

    The Jittery Goat is right.

    • Thanks for sharing that experience. It is a wonderful thing to know that you created feelings and meaning with just a little urging.
      A writer friend said a long time ago we are all writers; when we imagine another ending or imagine what else happened after the story ends we are writing.

  2. Sad.. you’d hope that the person who writes “Don’t stop believing” and all of the other thousands of songs about belief, would at least have done it from the heart.

Blather away, if you like.

