The Daily Prompt and The Wealth of King Charles

Today’s Daily Prompt; Take a Chance on Me

What’s the biggest chance you ever took? Did it work out? Do tell!

Life is full of big chances. Often we don’t know until much later how big they were. The biggest chance I took will remain a secret between only a few close friends and family. For the moment it appears to be a colossal failure, yet I’m able to live with it and who knows, it may turn out to be an eventual blessing.

My short story today has to do with what some consider taking a huge risk; it is about lending money. Hope you enjoy.

The Wealth of King Charles

Charles was a bully and manipulator. He had been that way all his life. That is what likely made him rich, not exquisitely rich but comfortably so.

He often bragged about the wealthy he knew and where he knew them from. He regaled friends about his vacations and winter home in the Caymans. His manner was often abrasive and offensive.

We were not always friends, but he manipulated me into a friendship for his own advantage. But something quite remarkable happened; after the purpose of the friendship and the advantage gained we still remained friends. I saw deep in him a troubled person; a person who needs affirmation and love and attention beyond what his bragging and gifts could not bring.

Charles was glad to see me. He welcomed me into his home and offered me a chair next to his. It was much in the manner of a king allowing a subject to sit next to the thrown.

Charles sat and like a mighty king feigning interest in the lowly turned to me and said, “What’s up, pal?”

“Charles I have a delicate matter to discuss with you,” I said.

“Fire away, pal,” Charles said.

“I have a friend who has fallen on hard times and needs $1,500,” I said. “He needs $2,000. I was only able to give him $500.”

“I’ll be right back, pal,” Charles got up from his chair and disappeared to his basement. In moment he returned and handed me an envelope. “There’s $2,000 in there. Take your $500 out.

A man who can only afford $500 shouldn’t be handing money out that he will likely never get back.”

“Do you want to know who wants it?” I said.

“I assume it’s somebody we both know,” Charles said.

“Do you want an agreement signed?” I said.

“What am I going to do with an agreement; a year from now wave it in his face?” Charles said.

“Thanks, Charles,” I said.

“Hey, Pal,” Charles said. “I’m now flat broke and hungry. Take that $500 I saved you and buy me a hamburger and fries.”

Yes, he’s abrasive, bullies, offensive, tactless, but a generous heart.

Blather away, if you like.

