Neurosis From A to Z

th6YOQOCWI

Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You

Got a soul-mate and/or a best friend? What is it about that person that you love best? Describe them in great detail — leave no important quality out.

“Great detail.” I don’t know how I can take nearly 48  years of marriage and condense it into a daily prompt. Certainly it would be my wife.  She is everything I am not and where I do well she does better.

Anyway if not for neurosis and neurotics there would be limited subjects to explore. Here is my short story for the day.

 Neurosis From A to Z 

“Life is a very strange thing,” Herzog said. “It is so difficult to be balanced.”

“What are you attempting to say?” Ludwig said.

“You take a person who is messy,” Herzog said. “It usually means they don’t care. The have little self image or respect.”

“Yes,” Ludwig said. “I suppose you are right.”

“And as to those who are neat and has to have every thing in place,” Herzog said. “The are most likely hopeless neurotics.”

“What about you, Herzog,” Ludwig said. “Which camp do you find yourself in?”

“Oh,” Herzog said. “A card carrying neurotic.”

“I find that hard to believe,” Ludwig said.

“I’m obsessed with being normal,” Herzog said. “My messes are in alphabetical order. Ascot untied to the front along with dirty ashtrays. Next is bottle cap on floor next to bowling shoes.”

“You sound quite complete,” Ludwig said. “Now allow me to challenger you neurosis. Do you have Zs.”

“I would not be a true neurotic if not,” Herzog said. “Zucchini bread, molded, in the refrigerator. And finish with Lionel Hampton album on the coffee table.”

“But he’s a xylophonists,” Ludwig protested. “That’s an X.”

“Yes that is to cover the Xs and Zs,” Herzog said. “I must end in Z. Hampton’s genre is jazz.”

“You are so accomplished,” Herzog,” Ludwig said. “The perfect neurotic.”

 

14 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompt, Short Stories

14 responses to “Neurosis From A to Z

  1. Pingback: Born to Be With You | Alexia Jones

  2. Pingback: About a Panda | jigokucho

  3. Pingback: An ode to a soul mate who doesn’t exist | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  4. Pingback: Welcome Back! | Views Splash!

  5. Herzog and Ludwig — I believe you have a new comedy team.

  6. Pingback: “Give her the truth serum, NOW!” | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | My Atheist Blog

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  9. Pingback: Yearning for The One : a misguided human quest? Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  10. Pingback: My Soul Mate: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  12. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “The Ice Maiden” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  13. Pingback: Your Eyes | It's Mayur Remember?

Blather away, if you like.

