Something To Remember & The Daily Prompt

th[10]

Daily Prompt: Pour Some Sugar on Me

What is your favorite sweet thing to eat? Bread pudding? Chocolate chip oatmeal cookies? A smooth and creamy piece of cheesecake? Tell us all about the anticipation and delight of eating your favorite dessert. Not into sweets? Tell us all about your weakness for that certain salty snack.

All of the above.

Why is it when you’re on a serious diet people want to talk about food. Anyway, I judge the world by whether they like oatmeal/raisin cookies with milk, Marciano cherries over vanilla ice cream, Homemade brand chocolate chip peanut-butter ice cream, sweet potato pie, banana cream pie, and I could go on and on. And almost forget, icing-covered pretzels – the best of both worlds. As previously mentioned, I judge the world based on these things. If you don’t like them find your own little planet.

Here is a “sweet” story about a guy who returns to see his high school teacher. I hope you enjoy.

Something To Remember

Evan was back in town. He happened to see his old high school English teacher at a local restaurant. The chatted in the parking lot after their meals

“They call it Language Arts now,” Mr. Carter said. “So you’ll come by the class tomorrow?’

“Certainly,” Evan said.

“I’ll let it be a surprise to the class,” Mr. Carter said.

“What do you want me to talk about?” Evan said.

“Something they’ll remember,” Mr. Carter said.

“That’s a tall order,” Evan said.

“Well I remember you,” Mr. Carter said. “And that’s been 22 years ago.”

“Yeah,” Evan said. “But it was not for academic achievements.”

“I’ve never have had a student with the ability quite like yours,” Mr. Carter said. “You made a Tootsie Roll look exactly like dog poop.”

“What Tootsie Roll,” Evan said.

Mr. Carter shook his head. “See you tomorrow.”

The next day Evan waited in the hallway until Mr. Carter waved him in the classroom.

“The last five minutes of our class I thought I’d like to surprise all of you with one of my former students, Evan Markowski.” Mr. Carter gestured for Evan to step to the lectern that sat on the top of the desk.

“Do you have any questions?” Evan said.

The class was mute. After a minute they began to squirm, look around, but remained mum. Evan looked at his watch and smiled politely. He glanced at Mr. Carter sitting at a chair to the side. Mr. Carter raised his eyebrows and smiled.

Evan tapped the lectern and waited. He looked at his watch and the clock on the wall.

“Well,” Evan said. “Our time is just about up and no one had a question. Nobody even asked who I am. No one was curious as to who Evan Markowski is or more importantly who Evan Markowski was. I’m an ex convict. It was 22 years ago I sat in Mr. Carter’s class. I didn’t have any questions. I had no curiosity. You know why? Because I thought I had all the answers. Just remember this day; it was the day you had no questions.”

The students filed out of the room.

Mr. Carter stood and walked over to Evan and shook his hand. “Very nice, Evan,” Mr. Carter said. “After your name is Googled it is likely a spirited discussion will ensue tomorrow.”

19 comments

    • Thanks much, bow ties. I’m making an effort to write 365 short stories this year. I’m near half way. I looking for a second wind. Comments such as yours keeps me going.

Blather away, if you like.

