The Daily Prompt & Start With We (short story)

th[3]

Daily Prompt: We Built This City

What do you love most about the city / town / place that you live in? What do you like the least about it? If you were mayor, what would be the most important problem you’d tackle? How would you tackle it?

Boise, Idaho is one of the finest places I’ve lived. Certainly there are drawbacks, but am I going to change the universe so I can be happier?

I don’t like the inversion weather patterns. It is a layer of vapor and pollution that traps cold air in the valley.  Changing it would make life miserable in other ways.

Certainly I would not want to be Mayor. Why allow myself to be in a position to be corrupted and make decisions that may alter the lives of people. Mayors are supposed to fix things and make things run smoothly. When it comes to repairing things it is not the responsibility of just one person, but the cooperation of many and the willingness of all. That makes governing impossible.

My short story today is about fixing problems.

Start With We

Agnes was furious at Lance. It seemed they were drifting apart. Their careers had taken them in two different directions. Lance had his friends and Agnes had hers. She had seminars and retreats and he had conventions and conferences. Each blamed the other and demanded the other surrender a bit of their career. Neither was willing to acquiesce.

“You put yourself ahead of me!” Agnes screamed and slammed her cell phone on the floor.

Lance for perhaps the first time saw the true anguish Agnes was holding within. He picked up the phone. “It’s broken,” he said sadly.

“I’ll go out and get a new one,” Agnes said and grabbed it from Lance’s hand.

She looked at the phone and pushed it with her thumbs a few times. “It fine,” Agnes said.

“I wasn’t talking about the phone,” Lance said. “I was talking about me and you.”

“That’s the problem,” Agnes said. “Me is always ahead of you.”

“I think you’re right,” Lance confessed.

“And when it comes to blame I always put you ahead of me,” Agnes said.

“Where do we go from here?” Lance said.

“We is a good start,” Agnes said.

365-banner21[1]

21 comments

  1. simply brilliant. Liked it… i am now following your blog for more than 2 months. most of your posts are simple fantastic. Check out mine.. sachinmanan.wordpress.com… pls share your feedback

Blather away, if you like.

