This Daily Prompt Is For Men Only & My Short Story For The Day

thPBIK41KF

Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy

Sometimes, we act on impulse: it could be something as small as ordering that special dessert on the menu, maybe asking out that cute boy or girl, or as large quitting your job and selling everything you own to become a shepherd in New Zealand. What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? If you’ve never succumbed to temptation, dream a little. If you gave yourself permission to go a little crazy, what would you do?

Clearly this prompt is for men only. What do women have to offer: “I’m buying the red dress with the red bag.” “I’m eating dessert with this meal.”

The dying worlds of most men are, “Hey, Dude, watch this.” That is said before a slightly inebriated guy tries base jumping from a bridge over a gorge in Idaho naked holding nothing but a bed sheet or boogie board across a shark tank with nothing more than a running start.

Nah, this prompt is the province of males only.

Anyway here is my short story for the day:

 The Bush Pilot and Business Savvy

Roger sucked on his teeth after the meal. “Good steak.”

“Aged,” Byron said. “Makes them tender.”

“Not to be nosey,” Roger said. “But what are you going to do with the $10,000 advance.”

“Don’t’ know,” Byron said. “Never had that much money all at once. You got any suggestions.”

“I’m in the same boat,” Roger said. “I had $10,000 just long enough to pay my plane off. Seems like there’s something about $10,000, I get close and about the time I think I’m going over something happens.”

“I think if you ever break the $10,000 limit you’ll just go on,” Byron said. “It’s been the same with me. I once had $9,999.99. I had two cents in my pocket and I was going to deposit it to go over the $10,000 threshold.”

“What happened?” Roger said.

“They wouldn’t accept a deposit less than $1,” Byron said.

“You should have withdrawn a $100 and immediately deposited $100.02,: Roger said.

“I never thought of that,” Byron said. “That’s why you own a plane and I don’t. You got business savvy.”

“Well,” Roger said. “I’m kind of embarrassed to admit this, but I was going to ask you to loan me $10,000. My plane has to have the motor rebuilt, upgraded, and re-outfitted.”

“That proves my point,” Byron said. “You got a nose for where the money is; that takes business savvy.”

365-banner21[1]

25 comments

  1. I liked your story, but not sure if this is men’s only prompt. As I am a woman, and I have never bought a dress or shoes or dessert on an impulse. I have done other crazy stuff though. See not all women buy purses you know. 😉

Blather away, if you like.

