To London For Love & The Daily Prompt

th9HMMFLKR

Daily Prompt: Our House

What are the earliest memories of the place you lived in as a child? Describe your house. What did it look like? How did it smell? What did it sound like? Was it quiet like a library, or full of the noise of life?Tell us all about it, in as much detail as you can recall.

Time does not permit full details of the home I first recall.  It was an upstairs apartment at 124 1/2 East Euclid Street in Lima, Ohio. We moved from there when I was four, but I have many memories. I recall my dad passing-out beneath the Christmas Tree (alcohol induced) while attempting to assemble an electric train. We had a crank Victrola in the living room closet. But most of all I remember my dear sisters caring for me. They were 8 and 10 years older than me. Becky and Charlene cared for me with such love that I have no bad memories of that time, only pleasant. Most of all I remember their smiles, laughter, and tenderness and miss them. They have both passed. Yes, when dwelling in thought on that simple abode I often come to tears.

Here is my short story for the day. It uses a famous historical residence as its backdrop, The Tower of London.

To London For Love

Wendy was having a wonderful time in London. It was as if she had lived there in the past. Of course she hadn’t, but read so much about it that to her it was like the back of her own hand. She made the trip exciting and informative for all of us. No one could imagine a finer trip if taken around by the Queen herself.

It was magnificent for the group she was with: Robert and Marge form Bradenton, Florida, William and Susan form Guthrie, Oklahoma, Margaret from Milwaukee, Tina from Philadelphia, and Doreen from Houston. It was a fun group they were grateful for her knowledge and willingness to make London come richly alive for them.

Although their were several single woman in the group she considered herself a bit on the outside; they were widows. Wendy was forty and never married. “Of course I know a lot about London,” she jokingly commented. “Instead of irony a man’s shirts and folding underwear I read about London.”

She delighted them with stories, legends, historical, accounts, and amusing anecdotes about the minutest detail of things.

The grand finale of their visit was the Tower of London and she regaled all with her vast knowledge even to the point of correcting the guides at various displays. Of course, she did this with the utmost of respect, tact, and civility and was kindly thanked.

They entered a building having a gigantic room with displays of knights in armor and medieval weaponry. It was dark and cold.

“This way, downstairs,” the guide said. “This way to the dungeon.” The guide chuckled, “This is where all the good stuff occurred.”

“Go ahead everyone,” Wendy said. “Go ahead without me.”

“Let’s go,” Doreen said. “It will be great fun.”

“No, no,” Wendy said. “That’s okay, go ahead without me.”

Suddenly the group stopped.

William said, “I think we should listen to Wendy’s reason.”

“I feel terribly embarrassed,” Wendy said. “I don’t want to ruin this for everyone else.”

“I can’t visit such a place,” Wendy said. “Especially when it is for entertainment. Good stuff did not happen there. I can’t entertain myself from the misery of others.”

Robert stepped forward. “I’m not speaking for everybody, but Wendy makes sense. Perhaps we could find something else to see.”

It was obvious Wendy was embarrassed. “This upsets me so much. I should have gone to the bathroom or something to avoid this. I’m afraid I turned this into something other than what it is and it should be a wonderful time for you all. I’m so sorry.”

The male guide listened to the entire exchange. “Good for you lass. I hate directing people to such an abomination. What a tender heart you have. If I may be so bold; I see no gentlemen with you. Are you perhaps just traveling alone or are you single?”

(Continued tomorrow.)

365-banner21[1]

21 Comments

Blather away, if you like.

