Treasure From The Future & The Daily Prompt

thMYG4XJP3

Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang

We all have jobs, tasks, and chores that we dislike doing. Tell us all about the least favorite job/task/chore that you get stuck doing routinely. What is it about this duty that you can’t stand?

Years ago when first starting to work in a factory I had dull monotonous routine job. I knew if I didn’t find a way to like it the job would become more than miserable. I focused on the people that I enjoyed seeing at work, the financial benefits and security it brought to my family, and I turned my work into a personal challenge of quality and productivity. This took the focus from me. Often times it is not the task that is the problem, it is the person performing it.

Here is my short story for the day. Hope you enjoy it.

Treasure From The Future

Bulldog drove to Charley’s house to pick him up so they could do a night of bar hopping. Bulldog burst into Charley’s place as excited as a puppy in a new home.

“Charley you ain’t gonna believe this. Charley, I swear to god I went into the future,” Bulldog said. “And I saw some wonderful things.”

“No such thing,” Charley said. “Remember when you said you sat down and ate with Big Foot?”

“That was Big Betty Summers,” Bulldog said. “Drunk or sober it’s hard to tell the difference.”

“Was you drunk, then?” Charley said.

“No,” Bulldog said. “For real.”

“Just give me one ounce of proof,” Charley said.

“Like what?” Bulldog said.

Charley turned on the TV. “It’s time for the news. Now if you went into the future tell me what the lead story will be on tonight’s news.”

“I didn’t pay any attention,” Bulldog said.

“You expect me to believe you?” Charley said. “Now, let me listen to the news and don’t bother me with your stupid fairytales.”

The newscaster said, “Tonight’s lead story is a local man, Meriwether “Bulldog” McKenzie, is the winner of the $3 hundred million dollar super mega lottery.”

Charley looked perplexed at Bulldog.

“I was in the future only long enough the get the winning lottery numbers,” Bulldog said.

“Your name is Meriwether?” Charley said.

“That does sound like a rich guys name,” Bulldog said. “I should have known all along I‘d be rich someday.”

365-banner21[1]

17 Comments

Blather away, if you like.

