Coffee Neurotics Seem To Find Each Other and The Daily Prompt

thA2G5Y15R

Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone

Ever have an experience that felt surreal, as though you’d been suddenly transported into the twilight zone, where time seemed to warp, perhaps slowing down or speeding up? Tell us all about it. If you haven’t had an experience in real life that you can draw from, write a fictional account of a surreal experience.

This or a variation has appeared in several prompts in the past. They make a good plot or background for imaginative and clever writing. Indeed, I have used it in the past to comply with the Daily Prompt. Such writings make the character the center of the universe; as if time, space, events, etc change for him or the convenience and contrivance of the writer. I don’t think we enter special places where time is bent or manipulated. It is only our perception and that is at best faulty. It is a gimmick for the writer to intensify his plot and we mortals use it to make our experiences more intriguing, distinctive, and memorable .

That’s my view and here is my story du jour:

 Coffee Neurotics Seem To Find Each Other

Nick had been seeing psychologist Dr. Mitchell Rolston once a week for a year. Except being an obsessive-compulsive disorder he functioned highly with the exception of stressful situations and interpersonal relationships.

The fact Nick was not noticing any measurable improvement was causing him concern. He brought it to the attention of Mitchell. He did what he could to alley any concerns Nick might be experiencing.

“I don’t want to see you for at least another month, but I want you to work on something for that month and at the end of that month I want you to return,” Mitchell said. “And what I think will emerge is a pattern. Likely after a couple of weeks you will see it yourself, but I’m going to have to look at it in view of the other psychological and clinical studies I’ve done on you. So how does that sound?”

“What is it you want me to do?” Nick said.

“Keep a tablet or notebook beside your bed and when you awaken each morning jot down the first thing you think about,” Mitchell said.

“Nothing complicated about that,” Nick said.

“We will be on the very edge of recovery,” Mitchell said. “You will know things about yourself that will begin to help you deal with the things in your past that effect you now.”

“I really feel good about this,” Nick said. “For the first time in a long time I think this is all moving in the right direction.”

“Good,” Mitchell said, “Just see the lady at the desk and tell her you want an appointment in a month. Here‘s something to think about; I use this on about 25% of my patients with 100% success. You can be confident. I am.”

A month late Nick returned.

“Did you do what I told you to do?” Mitchell said.

“Yes,” Nick said and handed the notebook to him.

Mitchell scanned it and looked curiously at Nick.

“I don’t get it,” Mitchell said. “You wrote ‘coffee” down for each day.”

“Bummer, right?” Nick said. “That’s the first thing that pops into my head. Can that be helped? Is that normal?”

“Not really,” Mitchell said. “I think you’re the most sane man I’ve ever met.”

Mitchell looked at his watch. “Wow, 10:00 o’clock already. I’m ready for a coffee. How about you? If you buy it comes of the your bill.”

365-banner21[1]

23 comments

  1. “It is a gimmick for the writer to intensify his plot and we mortals use it to make our experiences more intriguing, distinctive, and memorable ” I love coffee but i have to disagree with the above statement….

    • That’s okay. I don’t think we want to live in a world in which everybody agrees with us. The exception, though, would be coffee. If you don’t like coffee get out of my world.

  2. Reminds me of what one of my college professors told me when I was working toward my Computer Networking degree: “People only think I.T. runs on electricity… It really runs on coffee.”

Blather away, if you like.

