A Rainy Day At Home (short story) and The Daily Prompt

th7AIVEF4M

Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon

What giant step did you take where you hoped your leg wouldn’t break? Was it worth it, were you successful in walking on the moon, or did your leg break?

Sometimes you look at things a decide not to take a step. And in reality that is you step. It’s not forward nor backwards, it’s just a step aside. There are days like that; the step you choose to step aside allows you to be contemplative and reflective.

That’s my thought and here’s a short story that is about taking the time to just step aside. I hope you enjoy it and relate to it.

A Rainy Day At Home

Vince sat and listened to the sounds of the house on a rainy day and stared out the window at the neighborhood. He held a steaming cup of tea and sipped contentedly.

The rain patted the roof softly. It struck the metal chimney as if an angel’s irregular beat of a cymbal; a light tinkle. Water gushed from the downspouts like a chorus of strings. The clock above the fireplace ticked a second by second steady beat as if tapping a snare drum.

He watched people soaked as they hurried to the bus stop. A car splashed a man checking his mail. Children drenched like dogs skipped home from school on the sidewalks making sure to spatter every puddle. The man across the street held his briefcase over his head to avoid getting wet as he runs to his house. A woman in heels ran across a yard only to lose it to the mud’s soggy grip.

“Rain was meant to hear,” Vince said. “Certainly not to be walking around in.”

Another sip of tea warmed his chest.

365-banner21[1]

28 comments

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this
    web site before but after going through many of the
    posts I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back frequently!

    • Thanks so much for dropping by and commenting. This year I’ve made it a challenge to myself to either to write and post a small piece of fiction each day or an episode from a larger piece.
      Again thanks much for your interest and encouraging words.

  2. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right
    here! Best of luck for the next!

Blather away, if you like.

