The Genie Lied And The Daily Prompt

th[5]

Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time

Imagine that tomorrow, all of your duties and obligations evaporate for the day. You get the day all to yourself, to do anything you please. What types of fun activities would make your day?

My wife and I would get on a plane and go visit my daughter, son, and their families. I can’t think of a better time. Since one daughter lives near with her family, I’d ask them to go with my wife and me. That would be a perfect day.

Here’s a short story I conjured about two old guys who saw the light, sort of. The may have had a drink or so.

 The Genie Lied

“I have a theory,” Rick said. “And it goes against everything I believed up to the last few years.”

“I’d like to hear what you’ve come up with,” Wilt said.

“You know what the problem with this world is?” Rick said.

“We ain’t go the time,” Wilt said.

“Well,” Rick said. “It was me and you and the rest like us. We thought we had the answers. We was gonna change the world. Well, we did. Now look at it. If I’d knowed it was gonna look like this I’d never bought my bellbottoms, tented glasses, or let my hair grow. We was all wrong. We thought all we had to do was join hands and sing a song and the world would come together.”

“I tend to agree. We let the Genie out of the bottle,” Wilt said. “They say the frontal lobe doesn’t fully develop until around the age of 25. I think we shouldn’t listen to anybody until they’re at least 40. Nobody’s really mature or responsible till then. That’s the problem the world listens to too many people who are under 40.”

“Once the Genie is out of the bottle it’s impossible to put it back,” Rick said.

“Rock ‘n’ roll was the Genie,” Wilt said. “It was fun and exciting. It was too sappy to be taken seriously; first kiss, first dance, holding hands, that was about it. Then it started into psychedelic, disco, heavy metal, then before you knowed it, songs were about raping, killing, shooting up, getting down, getting high, getting it on, everything but getting an education and getting a job.”

“Yep,” Rick said. “Rock was the Genie in the bottle.”

“Sure is,” Wilt said. “You can’t go from Nat King Cole, Perry Como, and Frank Sinatra to Jay Z, Ice Cube, and Tupac without going through Elvis Presley, The Beatles, and The Rolling Stones.”

“Did you ever think we’d live long enough to say that?” Rick said.

“We’re sounding like our parents,” Wilt said.

“And I remember my mom telling me the fits her dad had when he caught her teaching The Charleston to her younger brother and sister. The devil’s dance he called it. What would he call what they’re doing now?” Rick said.

“Can you imagine a world without rock and rap?” Wilt said.

“In all candor,” Rick said, “I don’t think the world would miss it.”

“Logic tells us,” Wilt said, “It us it is useless, mundane, and we could very easily live without it, be just as happy, just as productive, and just as creative.”

“Strange,” Rick said.

“How’s that,” Wilt said.

“The Genie has everyone convinced we can’t live without her,” Rick said.

“The Genie lies,” Wilt said.

“We lied to ourselves,” Rick said.

365-banner21[1]

25 Comments

  1. A very interesting piece, I loved your brief summary of the changing music landscape with these line, “Then it started into psychedelic, disco, heavy metal, then before you knowed it songs were about raping, killing, shooting up, getting down, getting high, getting it on, everything but getting an education and getting a job.”…Right on the money!

Blather away, if you like.

