Waking Up To A Nightmare And Daily Prompt

thNUGD35BT

Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up

You. We know *you* are vice-free, dear Daily Post reader. But, or perhaps we should say, “butt,” others around you and in your life are riddled with vices: they smoke; they eat too much celery; they hog the covers; they can’t keep their hands out of the office candy bowl. Which vice or bad habit can you simply not abide in others?

Smoking is always something I tolerated, yet expressed an opinion. If someone lit up while we spoke I might say, “Aren’t you going to ask me if I minded?” If they indicated they intended on smoking no matter what, I would tell them I’ll stand elsewhere and when they were finished we could do or discuss what ever was planned. I worked in a shop for 30 years. Some were offended and some were polite at my request. But I was always certain to inform the smoker my conduct toward their smoking was not personal.

I have experienced person’s who would refuse to even speak to persons who smoked, held another political view, a schism in their religion, another  race, another nationality,  a particular moral view, and even dietary habits. Everyone should be treated with kindness and dignity.

Here is my short story about waking up from a nightmare only to be comforted by a nightmare.

Waking Up To A Nightmare

Kyle ran, stumbled, crawled, and hid among the jungle through the night. Explosions lit the green around him as if to guide his escape. The thunderous explosions shook the ground and shoved him to the earth like a rag doll.

He picked himself up and continued to run. Branches swiped at his face and under growth grabbed at his ankles. Where he was running, he was not certain. All he knew is that he was just running from something terrible and deadly.

Kyle fell again. The sound of machine gun fire echoed and ripped through the foliage overhead.

He crawled furiously until his knees and elbows were raw and sore. He stopped and pressed his helmet tight against his head. Something warm dripped into his eye. He wiped and looked at his hand, blood. Fingers searched furiously for the wound.

A small whole; an entrance wound. Panic – something was inside his head; lodged in his brain. Suddenly a sharp pain emanated from the top of his scalp and ran through his body.

“I must get up and move before some sort of paralysis or disorientation takes over,” he thought.

He struggled to his feet and ran forward. Tingling and a feeling of numbness streaked though his legs. They suddenly grew completely numb. He collapsed and tumbled endlessly until coming to a rest.

Kyle jerked and awoke from his recurring nightmare. He was safe now, in his bunker as shells exploded and pounded the night and machine gun fire like the clickety-clack of a train on the track lulled him back to sleep.

365-banner21[1]

21 comments

  1. Great story. It’s very relevent to our times and well written.

    It also strikes a personal chord with me…

    My husband is an ex-reg force member of the Canadian military. For him, the conflict his unit was involved in is now over a quarter century past. But he has PTSD that went untreated and has resurfaced with a veagence in the last few years.

    This post may be fiction, but it’s also a reality right now for so many men and women in the armed forces. Hopefully, this will help to raise more awareness as to what they face when deployed to war zones.

    Again, great job!

  2. Your daily prompt response- I am a smoker, and I wanted to say that while you avoid smokers without it being personal, I will smoke even if it means being unable to talk to someone or interrupting a conversation. This is because not only is it an addiction, smoking is linked in with a lot of psychological issues I’ve had, and so just know that it’s nothing personal when smokers choose their cigarettes over you. In fact they probably wish they could choose you over the cigarettes.

    • I was so wrapped up in the smoking thing I had forgot you had wrote waking up to a nightmare until I pressed reply.. It’s very well written and very moving. It’s a very real reminder of what our soldiers go through to protect us. Thank you for writing it.

      • Your welcome. Likewise I did take some offense to your reply on smoking (sorry) I have many friends, family, and acquaintances who smoke and I love them none the less than those who don’t.

    • Certainly from your response you do have other issues besides addiction to nicotine. Get help if you want it.I don’t take it personal if someone prefers a cigarette over me and nothing I said indicates that.

  3. Oh dear I didn’t mean it like that.. With all the non-smokers who make it clear it is personal, it meant a lot to me that someone had taken the time to say it was nothing personal. And I just wanted to say it was nothing personal either (though I didn’t mean to imply that you thought it was). I just thought it might not be something you had heard actually said (or written) before. I also wanted to say that many smokers I’ve spoken to (not just me with my added psychological issues- I am getting help) are aware that it can seem they are choosing smoking over their friends and that they wish it wasn’t that way. I didn’t mean to offend or imply you didn’t already know these things. I just thought they were worth actually being said. Lesson learnt though- don’t comment when tired.

    • I’m so sorry. I see your response, now, in an entirely different light. When I mentioned getting help that was quite sincere. In fact until you mentioned it I gave little thought to the turmoil some wrestle with to stop and issues behind it, I’m sorry that I was so short-sighted that I didn’t see the real pain. Now if you don’t mind I’m going to remove as much egg from my face as possible.

Blather away, if you like.

