Miguel Learns To Like Himself (short fiction)

thEUIVVLGA

(Daily Prompt: Just hang out with my friends and discuss life’s thorny problems.)

Miguel hung his head over the bar. He nursed the same beer all afternoon. It was a scene of utter despair.

Juan, an old friend, walked in and signaled the bartender for a bottle and two glasses.

Juan sat beside Miguel, “What is wrong my old friend?”

“It is a difficult thing,” Miguel said to Juan.

“What is so difficult?” Juan said.

“The most difficult thing in the world is to like yourself,” Miguel said. “And for me that is difficult. I do not like myself.”

“I have heard of such a thing, but I have no experience in helping other than tequila and a good word. But I swear to you, Miguel,” Juan said. “You are a good man. You have done many good things.”

“It was not always that way,” Miguel said. “In the past so many bad things.”

“We all do bad things,” Juan said.

“Not to good people,” Miguel said. “There is no way to repay.”

“How bad was it, Miguel,” Juan said.

“You don’t want to know,” Miguel said.

“Was it murder?” Juan said. “Did you kill someone?”

“I must repeat,” Miguel said. “You don‘t want to know.”

“But, Miguel,” Juan said. “Perhaps I can assure you, you are a very likable man and there is no need for you to live with such guilt. Speak to me and free yourself.”

“It is too painful to bring up,” Miguel said.

“It is painful because you keep it inside,” Juan said. “It is like a boil; when the pressure is released all the poison and pain goes away.”

“I wish that were true,” Miguel said. “But this may be more like a cancer; once it is exposed it spreads.”

“I do not think so, my friend,” Juan said. “Nothing will come between us, nothing.”

Miguel swallowed hard. He poured a shot of tequila for himself and Juan. “Drink,” he said.

They both tossed the shots quickly into their mouths.

“Are you ready to talk?” Juan said.

“Are you ready to listen?” Miguel said.

“I am ready, my friend,” Juan said.

Miguel leaned forward and with cold eyes said, “I killed your brother, Pedro.”

“I don’t have a brother named Pedro,” Juan said.

“Pedro Valdez?” Miguel said.

“No,” Juan said. “I am Juan Alvarez.”

“You have a brother named, Carlos?” Miguel said.

“Yes,” Juan said.

“I killed him too,” Miguel said.

“Now do you feel better?” Juan said.

“Yes,” Miguel said, “But aren’t you upset and want revenge.”

“I take revenge long ago,” Juan said. “I killed your brother, Marco.”

“But when Marco got killed then I killed Carlos,” Miguel said.

“I knew it was only a matter of time,” Juan said. “And the opportunity presented itself then; it may never happen again. I did not want to go looking for him.”

“I am beginning to get confused,” Miguel said.

“It is good our brothers are dead. You did a good thing and should be proud you did a good thing,” Juan said. “Our brothers were no good, they would kill for no good reason.”

(A 365 Daily Prompt)

Captive Bloggers

  1. Sunset | Vintage Photography
  2. Daily Prompt: Choice « Vicariously Poetic
  3. The Crossroad | Kate Murray
  4. Choice of lusciousness: Daily Prompt – photo | alienorajt
  5. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Basically Beyond Basic
  6. Which Way? To the left, to the right, or any way you want | The Photo Faith Challenge
  7. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  8. Captive’s Choice | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  9. Just have to time myself to match the flickering fluorescence… | thoughtsofrkh
  10. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | A Room of One’s Own
  11. DP Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Sabethville
  12. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice » My Life, My Way, My Words
  13. Miguel Learns To Like Himself (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  14. Captive | Active Army Wife
  15. Captive’s Choice: Strange Building | Dean’z Worldz
  16. daily prompt: captive’s choice | aimanss…
  17. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  18. Let’s go Katniss-style | Wanderlein
  19. An excuse for a vacation | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  20. Kidnapped | dandelionsinwind
  21. Captive’s Choice | Flowers and Breezes
  22. Captive’s Choice | A mom’s blog
  23. Long My Imprisoned Spirit Lay, Fast Bound in Sin and Nature’s Night . . . | meanderedwanderings
  24. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Moments Thru Lens
  26. Pagpili | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  27. A holistic View of Myself | A Teacher’s Blog
  28. Cold | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  29. “I’d rather be stuck in Disneyland” | I am Lynn
  30. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Wordz on a Page
  31. Choice, Which Way Would You Go | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  32. Captive In The Beast’s Forest | moonstonemaiden
  33. A Rock, No, Wait, an Island/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  34. How a Dying Mall Taught Me Survival Skills
  35. Escape | My Play Nook
  36. Taken | LOQUACITÉ
  37. I’ll Take the Island Please | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  38. Choose Your Captivity | Edward Hotspur
  39. Spoilt for Choices | LenzExperiments
  40. Captive’s Choice | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  41. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | The Road Less Travelled By
  42. MY KIDNAPPING CONTRACT. | ArtFreak
  43. Captive’s Choice | smarshmellow
  44. Choice | The Nameless One
  45. S. Thomas Summers | The Cold, Dark Waits
  46. Captive’s Choice | Geek Ergo Sum
  47. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | LADYBOY PROMPT
  48. CHOICE | SERENDIPITY
  49. Captive’s Choice – Please don’t throw me into the unknown forest. | TamekoTheArtist
  50. Daily Prompt: Being Kidnapped! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  51. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | BulgingButtons
  52. An island, a forest, or a strange building? | SusannaAntihero
  53. DP: Bring on the Forest | The Uncustomary Housewife
  54. No Victim | My Little Avalon
  55. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | The Wandering Poet
  56. Choice | Winging it
  57. Captive’s choice | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  58. Prompted Ponderings – ‘Captive’s Choice, Daily Prompt’ | Hemsleberrious
  59. Island hopping, please | Mishe en Place
  60. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Occasional Stuff
  61. DP: Choice – The Choice that is No Choice | aliabbasali
  62. Kidnapped? Not gonna happen | Mindful Digressions
  63. Choice | @vannilla
  64. I Choose Milkwood…(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  65. Towers of Canaries | field of thorns
  66. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Feelings? I ate them all.
  67. Choices… | The Christian Gazette
  68. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | UBeCute – Follow the child inside of you…
  69. tough choices | 2 times pink
  70. Daily Prompt: Choices Schmoices | One Starving Activist
  71. Sequestrado | Sonhos desencontrados
14 comments

Blather away, if you like.

