The Grey Farmhouse

th[5]

(For Daily Prompt I first encountered me and wrote about me.)

“It seems like not so long ago,” James said. “But it’s been a lifetime.”

He strolled along a path that wound around an apple tree. There it stood an early twentieth century farmhouse; grey trimmed in white. Much of the paint had peeled. Below the peeled paint was another layer of gray. At one time it seemed majestic and protective, now it was humble and ran-down.

“What happened to her?” James mumbled.

“Why did you want to come back,” Sylvia said from two steps behind James.

“Sometimes when you leave in a hurry you leave things behind,” James said.

“It looks like nobody has lived here in years,” Sylvia said catching up with James and holding his hand.

“There’s something in there and I have to see it,” James said. “I don’t know what it is, but when I see it or feel it I’ll know. I’ll know immediately.”

“I think you should go in and look around,” Sylvia said.

“Do you want to go in with me?” James said.

“I don’t think so,” Sylvia said and released James’ hand. “Take as long as it takes.”

James forced the unlocked back door open. He entered the back porch. It was incredible to him. He smiled; thirty years had not extinguished the odor or memories. He passed through the kitchen and stopped. He remembered his mother cooking on the stove and working over the kitchen sink. He remembered her looking out at the apple tree as she did the dishes and singing “Don’t sit under the apple tree with anyone else but me, anyone else but me, anyone else but me.”

A flood memories rushed in like a bursting dam. It was overwhelming. He hurried to the steps in the dinning room that led upstairs and sat. He hung his head and sobbed.

After a few minutes he returned to his feet and inspected each room. He pushed aside remnants of discarded and untaken items from the last resident. There was nothing found to purge or refresh his memory any further.

“Something is here,” James muttered. “I could not have come all this way for nothing.”

At last he entered his old room. He closed his eyes slowly. He recalled the hours spent there dreaming, planning, fretting, wondering, doubting, and at last in a fury of anger… left; never to return until this moment.

Suddenly something drew him to a corner of the room. He looked into one of the cracks of the floor boards. There was something lodged in the crack. He pulled out a pocket knife and dislodged it.

“A coin,” James said. “The coin.”

He flipped it, smiled, and dropped it in his pocket. He walked to doorway of the room, turned, and smiled. “That’s it!” James said.

James bolted from the house as if he didn’t have a care in the world.

“Let’s go Sylvia,” James said. “We have one more stop.”

“Is everything okay?” Sylvia asked.

“Oh yes,” James said. “I’ll tell you about it in the car.”

The got in the car and drove away.

James smiled. “Remember I told you about the beating I got from Uncle Irv?”

“Yes,” Sylvia said. “It was horrible.”

“He accused me of stealing one of his coins. I denied it. He didn’t believe me. We got into a shouting match. He came after me and cornered me in my room. He beat me until I felt nothing. I should have gone to the hospital, but Mom knew that if I went there would be questions and Uncle Irv would end up in jail. There would have been no one to work the farm.”

“Your mom should have done something,” Sylvia said.

“She did,” James said. “She took care of me.”

“But you never took the coin, right?” Sylvia said.

“Not then,” James said. “Later I found the coin in his chair. I didn’t want to embarrass good ole Uncle Irv and make him feel bad so I took the coin and hid it. I figured I already got a beating for it.”

“Was the coin valuable?” Sylvia said. “An 1804 silver dollar. I t may be worth a couple of million and it’s in my pocket right now. I just found it. It was right where I hid it.”

“You got to be kidding!” Sylvia said. “Where are we going?”

“I’m going to pay Uncle Irv a visit,” James said. “He’s in a nursing home.”

A half hour later James sat in a chair next to an crumple up bitter looking old man, Uncle Irv.

“Do you know who I am?” James said.

“James,” Irv scowled.

“That’s right, Uncle Irv,” James said.

“Do you remember the beating you gave me when you accused me of stealing your coin?” James said.

“Nurse!” Irv said.

“Look, Uncle Irv,” James said. “If it takes them an hour to clean the sheets around this place and wipe your ass what makes you think they can come in time to save you? Besides, I’m here to visit you and give you a word of good cheer.”

“What is it you want?”

James held the coin in front of Irv’s eyes. “See it, Uncle Irv. I found it no more than forty-five minutes ago. It’s been in the house all this time.”

Irv reached for it. James quickly returned it to his pocket.

“It’s mine,” Irv said.

“Good day Uncle Irv,” James said.

James shut the door to Irv’s room and returned to the car.

“Do you still have the coin?” Sylvia said.

“Yes,” James said. “Can we go past the house one more time?”

“Sure,” Sylvia said.

As they drove down the road the gray farm-house sat, it slowly came in to view from below the horizon.

“What do you think of it?” James said.

“It’s a grey farm-house,” Sylvia said. “It hasn’t changed in the last hour.”

“Yes it has,” James said. “It is a palace.”

(365 Writing Prompts)

Other 365 Day Bloggers

  1. Resolved | carpe noctem
  2. Kick It | carpe noctem
  3. Menulis Setiap Hari | Cemara13
  4. Crises and Time Management | The Jittery Goat
  5. Quote Me | carpe noctem
  6. Call Me Ishmael | carpe noctem
  7. My Favorite | carpe noctem
  8. Helpless | carpe noctem
  9. Teacher’s Pet | carpe noctem
  10. 1984 | carpe noctem
  11. 32 Flavors | carpe noctem
  12. Daily Writing Prompts | Use Your Words, another blog by J. K. Hoffman
  13. In a crisis…write, every day of your life 17/365 | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  14. In a crisis | Sue’s Trifles
  15. Quote Me – January 4th « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
  16. In a crisis: The UNWRITTEN! | Emotion at Peek
  17. January 17, 2014 – Nothing is a Crisis | Every Day in 2014
  18. The 365-post Project | The Freelancer Files
  19. In a Crisis | columnsbylor
  20. The Grey Farmhouse | The Jittery Goat
  21. January 18, 2014 – Sweet Dirty Wetness | Every Day in 2014
  22. Raspberries in the garden on a hot summer day | Blatherskite
  23. Home…soil…rain…write, every day of your life 18/365 | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl

Encounter With Other Bloggers

  1. Olga and Masha making vareniki. January 17, 2014 | Vintage Photography
  2. Who are you. | Passionate Dreaming
  3. The Luckiest People | The Nameless One
  4. First Encounter: Meeting Abby | Dean’z Worldz
  5. The Luckiest People | Geek Ergo Sum
  6. hungover and fresh with bed head and lingering pillow wrinkles | thoughtsofrkh
  7. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  8. Who was it? | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  9. The Luckiest People: People | Khana’s Web
  10. DP Daily Prompt: Luckiest People | Sabethville
  11. daily prompt: the luckiest people | aimanss…
  12. Frozen | La Gatita Oscura
  13. The First Person | 52 Miles per Month
  14. Heat Sense | johnny ojanpera
  15. My Better Half . . . No, Really! | meanderedwanderings
  16. 9: Others | 365 days of defiance
  17. Elected – excluding others? | A Teacher’s Blog
  18. Crafts for girls | A mom’s blog
  19. Morning People… | Haiku By Ku
  20. “The Luckiest People”(?) | Relax
  21. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  22. Reflection | My Little Avalon
  23. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  24. Nobody | Fictionalism
  25. Daily Post: People | Destino
  26. P E O P L E | the bippity boppity beautiful blog
  27. The Grey Farmhouse | The Jittery Goat
  28. People | Purple Rosemary
  29. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest (?) People | Heron There & Everywhere
  30. People | Foto Challenge
  31. The full set : Daily Prompt – photo | alienorajt
  32. FriendShip. The Extraordinary Story of One Family. | The Life NomadikThe Life Nomadik
  33. Not so lucky. ha! | Chasing The Bubble
  34. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | Basically Beyond Basic
  35. Encounter with Self | all my likes
  36. Lucky to have Mother in your life | Processing the life
  37. Daily Prompt: People | Chronicles of a Public Transit User
  38. I am the “luckiest people” | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  39. Daily Prompt: He Is a Man | One Starving Activist
  40. A Glimpse through The Curtains | Shadows Of The Divine
  41. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | Blame It on Em
  42. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | The Wandering Poet
  43. Time, Life and My Beautiful He | Shades of Teal
  44. Giving it a go- Liebster award | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  45. Who is Luckier? | Photography Journal Blog
  46. I B | Flowers and Breezes
  47. My Dog / Daily Post | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  48. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest Momma | Under the Monkey Tree
  49. Smell of the Color Pink | field of thorns
  50. A genuine Friendship.. | TheWildFlower
  51. Helpful Cat | Muddy River Muse
  52. Connection to the Past | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  53. You were !! | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  54. Lucky | My Play Nook
  55. The Man Who Shovels Snow
  56. The Art of Coexistance: Why I Haven’t Seen My Roommate Yet | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  57. Lucky Little Lily | Life Love Lily
  58. Define “First” | My Author-itis
  59. My buddies | Emovere
  60. Luckiest people | Making Life an Art
  61. Do they know they’re being blogged about? | djgarcia94
  62. The Story of a Man and a Pizza and a Truck and a Fish and … just read the dang thing, will you? | Journey Taker
  63. Beloved | Active Army Wife
  64. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | jane sleeps here
  65. Daily Prompt: (The Luckiest) People | Visions Of A Daydreamer
  66. Week One: My Happy Money Experiment | Lewis Cave
  67. Dad | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  68. Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | Occasional Stuff
  69. 5 Truths About Living with a Roommate | Thoughts Less Traveled
  70. The Luckiest People | Wicked Words
  71. Meeting Up Out In The Rolling Plains | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  72. Racist, bully, stupid, or all of the above? | Mishe en Place
  73. First Seen, but Not Spoken | The Photo Faith Challenge
11 comments

Blather away, if you like.

