A Hero’s Welcome Home

This is reality of war not the surprise classroom visit of Dad or Mom coming home.
This is reality of war not the surprise classroom visit of Dad or Mom coming home.

We see it all the time. Everyday; the cameras and media are on hand to capture those moments when that special someone comes back from deployment.

We are all happy to see families reunited. It’s heart warming. But let’s view it for what it really is, propaganda. These are private moments exploited by the government and military to deflect the reality of war. The media gives it attention because it boosts ratings.

The real story about war are coffins being delivered to sobbing families. No number of happy reunions can erase one tear from the eye of a child whose father or mother was lost in war.

My Favorite Person

My favorite person is my wife. When inducted into the Army there was about a two month period I did not see her (basic training).

If we had known she was pregnant with our first it is likely I would not have had to go into the Army. Being young, naïve, and scared I thought it would be impossible for me to get out of the Army once I was in.

From that point on everything possible was done to make certain I was never away from my family. And during my entire four years during my military service my family was always close by.

(January 6: My favorite – What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person? Tell us about it.)

(Also submitted as a Daily Prompt.)

Simply The Best Bloggers

  1. A Distracting Ramble Through Nowhere in Particular | As I please
  2. A Heroe’s Welcome Home | The Jittery Goat
  3. My bed is the best spot | Now Have At It!
  4. DP Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Sabethville
  5. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Awl and Scribe
  6. The best place | Pen And IPen And I
  7. Daily Prompt: Simply The Best | Another Blog
  8. My insane mind | all my likes
  9. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. on a wire, happiness | y
  11. daily prompt: simply the best | aimanss…
  12. My best thinking: no exact time, neither exact place, but exact conditions. | Write for learning
  13. Unafraid? | alienorajt
  14. The Best Ideas | Edward Hotspur
  15. All good really, aside from the prunage… | thoughtsofrkh
  16. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best « cognitive reflection
  17. Think, Thank, Thunk. | Short and Feisty
  18. Daily Prompt: Thinking Cap | One Starving Activist
  19. Back to Reality… And My Couch | The Janie Doh Daily
  20. Daily Prompt : Best Thinking | Code Name Incog
  21. I Think, Therefore . . . When I Can! | meanderedwanderings
  22. A Certain State of Mind | SouthRiverside
  23. Simply the Best | Geek Ergo Sum
  24. Walking a path to better writing | Jeremy Podolski
  25. Thinking | Flowers and Breezes
  26. my brain and I | Steinsdotter`s Saga
  27. Emotionally Simple | tembalimbo
  28. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best. | ginnysblogspace
  29. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Misifusa’s Blog
  30. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. Simply the Best | The Story of a Guy
  32. Daily Prompt: Photography: My Best Senior Portrait Work | Daily Prompt & Blogging Progress
  33. Daily Prompt: Simply The Best | Finding Life
  34. Bring on the night | Pen Kisses Paper
  35. Warning: Loading Inspiration. Do Not Disturb. | Blue Loft
  36. The best time to write | MC’s Whispers
  37. Thinking? HA! Mom’s don’t get to do that, what are YOU talking about sir? | From One Crazy Life To Another
  38. SIMPLY THE BEST TIME TO THINK? WHAT’S SIMPLE ABOUT IT? | SERENDIPITY
  39. When Everything Aligns | Liv(e) Photography
  40. The Best | 40again’s Blog
  41. While thinking today | life at random outlook
  42. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Basically Beyond Basic
  43. cleansed | peacefulblessedstar
  44. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | thejimmieG
  45. Epiphany musings and my thought patterns | Sue’s Trifles
  46. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  47. Think? / Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  48. A Blessing in Disguise… of a Curse! | An Upturned Soul
  49. 3 Paragraphs on Productivity | The Thoughts Less Traveled
  50. Daily Prompt: Best | Nicola Kirk
  51. The Best | A mom’s blog
  52. Unravelling Thoughts | Retrofocus
  53. Meditation Inspiration… | Haiku By Ku
  54. Simply the Best | The Nameless One
  55. Daily Post: Inspiration | readingwithafeather
  56. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Gradual Thought
  57. Immortalizing Fragile Emissaries (Daily Prompt: Simply The Best) | Simply Silent
  58. S. Thomas Summers | On a Leather Chair With a Pipe and a Cup of Tea
  59. Simply The Best | No longer unemployed, no longer a bride…
  60. Making our mind up | Le Drake Noir
  61. Inspiration Paradox | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  62. Daily Prompt: Simply The Best | Chunky Brain
  63. Daily Prompt: Simply The Best | Lifeinpawprints’s Weblog
  64. I think on paper | writemybrainsout
  65. Catching waves in the closest ocean | Rob’s Surf Report
  66. Two Trees | A Teacher’s Blog
  67. Update, Sync and Reboot…..(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  68. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  69. Congestion | zaniwright
  70. Daily Prompt : Simply the best ! | Mon beau manoir
  71. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | MonkeyGirl18’s Blog
  72. The Daily Post Zero To Hero Challenge that is Simply the BEST Cliffhanger | The Playground
  73. In pursuit of true love | TJ Barker in Seattle
  74. Dirty Dishes: Simply the Best! | Active Army Wife
  75. The thinking game | Emovere
  76. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | A Room of One’s Own
  77. A Time to write and a time to think… | TheWildFlower
  78. Simply the best…thinking | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  79. New Year, New Way of Thinking: Daily Prompt | Designed by Three
  80. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | To Breathe is to Write
  81. It’s a Compliment, Really | Scraps of Paper
  82. Thoughts About Thinking | Notes by Natalie
  83. Daily Prompt: In My Mind, All the Time | Morrighan’s Muse
  84. Quiet in my Brain | The Silver Leaf Journal
  85. When and Where I Do My Best Thinking, I Think | 365 Days of Thank You
  86. Of my time for thinking. | Concentrate On Yourself
  87. Daily Prompt: Simply the Best | Occasional Stuff
  88. Thinking about thinking… | The Armchair Socialite
  89. Simply the Best | Wicked Words
  90. O momento ideal ao pensamento | Sonhos desencontrados
  91. brain, what’s wrong with you? | m e d u s a
  92. Clarity in A Hot Place | Journey Thru L
  93. Simply The Best | LeahJ’s .Word Trip
  94. Daily prompt: Simply the Best | La chica de la burbuja
  95. I’m thinking…I’m thinking | Emotional Resonance and Rocket Launchers
2 comments

Blather away, if you like.

