A Stroke Of Religion At Midnight

th[1]Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic?

A Stroke Of Religion At Midnight

Spike and I have been cell mates for five years. I don’t trust Spike even though he has become and ordained preacher of The Church of Hardcore Unredeemable Institutionalized Wayward, Lost, and Forgotten Souls of Those Doomed for Perdition Saved by Grace. He speaks a powerful sermon.

He insists I call him Reverend Spike. At 6’7” and weighs 310 he commands a lot of reverence.

Anyway, Reverend Spike said to me last night at the stroke of midnight just when the new year was about to begin, “Brother, are you where you want to be?”

It didn’t take me long to say, “No.”

“Where would you like to be, Brother?” Reverend Spike said.

“Well,” I said. “The bottom bunk for one.”

“Hey, I help you up to the top bunk,” Reverend Spike said defensively.

“Tossing me like a sack of dirty laundry does not exactly qualify as helping,” I said. “It’s kind of like being tossed from the ring on a pay-for-view World Wrestling Federation event.”

“Okay, besides the lower bunk,” Reverend Spike said.

“Well, I’d like to be out,” I said. “But I got mandatory sentencing for bank robbery. I was kind of hoping for an early parole.”

“What if you make parole?” Reverend Spike said. “What will you do with your life?”

I hung my head over the side of the bunk and whispered. “I got the money stashed away. Nobody knows where it’s at.”

“Woe ye of little faith,” Reverend Spike said. “If ye have faith the size of a mustard seed ye can move mountains.”

“What about you, Reverend Spike?” I said. “Where would you like to be?”

It didn’t take Reverend Spike long to say, “Heaven.”

“Don’t you have to die first?” I said.

“I’m trying to work my way around that one,” Reverend Spike said.

“Reverend Spike,” I said. “You never have told me what you did to get in here.”

“Serial killer,” Reverend Spike said. “I sure miss it. At least a dozen or so. Snapped their necks just like opening a jar of pickles. And I got the urge again.” And he said quiet, distinctly, and eerily, “Yeah, I got the urge real bad. And I got few options as to whose next.”

“Maybe you should pray about it,” I suggested. My mind is racing like a cockroach when the lights come on.

The next thing you know Reverend Spike was on his knees beside the bunk mumbling a prayer.

I figured there was nothing to lose. “Reverend Spike,” I said low and divine-like.

“Yes, lord,” Reverend Spike said calmly.

“Leave your bunk mate be,” I said. “He is a good man.”

“But he has committed many sins and deserves to die,” Reverend Spike prayed.

“I have forgiven him,” I said.

“I’m asking for a sign lord,” Reverend Spike prayed. “If he tells me where the stolen money is before morning I will let him live. It is up to you lord.”

Frankly, I see the Reverend Spike backsliding on this one.

“But, Reverend Spike,” I said. “You can’t get it. You are serving a life term. What good will it do you?”

“I can give it to thee, lord,” Reverend Spike prayed.

“I don’t need it,” I said.

“But there are many who do,” Reverend Spike prayed.

“God is good,” I said.

“God is good,” Reverend Spike prayed.

“God is great,” I said.

“God is great,” Reverend Spike prayed.

“My trip to heaven I cannot wait,” I said.

“My trip to heaven I cannot wait,” Reverend Spike prayed.

Leaning over my upper bunk I dropped my bed sheets down around his neck and pulled tight for five minutes.

I struggled to position his body against the bars and hoist him so it looked like suicide. Reverend Spike weighed all of 310 pounds and I had to hoist him at least 6 feet 7 and ¼ inches off the ground. For a guy who never lifted anything other than a 12 ounces at a time that was near to impossible. As I lifted this prayer was uttered;

“I was lost and now I’m found. Lord, help me lift 310 pounds.”

Eventually he was staged in place to look like a suicide and strangely wearing an angelic smile, wings not yet awarded.

Yes indeed, Reverend Spike preached a powerful sermon last night, “If ye have faith the size of a mustard seed ye can move a mountain.”

Magical Bloggers

  1. First Wednesday of 2014 and I Totally Welcome it! | I am Shira
  2. I Am | A Teacher’s Blog from Land’s End
  3. The healer | 365 days of defiance
  4. A Stroke Of Religion At Midnight | The Jittery Goat
  5. Enchanted | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  6. Do you Believe in Magic? | The Nameless One
  7. Telesthesia | Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic? | likereadingontrains
  8. MAGIC: The U.S. Suddenly Cares About Educating Its Youngest Citizens; Wednesday, January 1, 2014 | LisaRosier.com
  9. Magic | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  10. Enchantment | Sue’s Trifles
  11. Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic? | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  12. Where has the magic gone? | Kate Murray
  13. Dark Angel and the Light | alienorajt
  14. Something New? | The Vibrant Channeled Creator
  15. Daily Prompt: Do You Believe in Magic? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  16. The Magical Being | Flowers and Breezes
  17. Do you believe in magic? | Hope* the happy hugger
  18. Khana’s Web
  19. Angel Wings T-shirt Mod | Full Fat Life
  20. Do you believe in magic? | Motherhood and Beyond
  21. New Year Celebrations! | Through the Peacock’s Eyes
  22. Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic? | cdvisions inspirations
  23. Josie and a Touch of Magic (Short Fiction) | meanderedwanderings
  24. Challenge Accepted [Daily Prompt: Enchantment] | Adventures of The SIA Brat
  25. You enchant me. | Bullet holes in the wall
  26. Bewitched | Life is great
  27. Enchanted. | The scribbles in the margin
  28. inner magic | waitloss
  29. Etiquette | Short notions
  30. S. Thomas Summers | Janurary 1, 2014 – Enchantment
  31. What’s Your Story? | An Upturned Soul
  32. My Dream ! | Dreams to Reality !
  33. Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic? | Basically Beyond Basic
  34. I wish I didn’t cry | not4faintheartsblog
  35. A Magical DP | Scorched Ice
  36. Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic? | niennie
  37. He-Man I have the Power! 2 Manipulate! | Cornelison
  38. Rasengan! | Retrofocus
  39. Magic Blows Your Mind For You | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  40. Daily Prompt: Do You Believe in Magic? « Mama Bear Musings
  41. New Year Luck, Black Eyed Peas and Magic | Vampire Maman
  42. If I Were a Mystical Being …
  43. Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic? | Diary of Dennis
  44. The magic of a new year | Poetry Novice
  45. Wicked Witchcraft | This Signal Here
  46. Daily Prompt: Do you believe in magic? | Occasional Stuff
  47. Do you believe in Magic? | aflurryofinspiration
  48. Daily Prompt: The Curse of Magic | One Starving Activist
  49. Do you Believe in Magic? Daily Post | Nicole Sloan’s Books
  50. Daily Prompt: Enchantment | Dockfam Adventures
  51. Looking Ahead | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  52. Enchantment | Rebecca Barray
  53. The Magic Was in the Music….(WP daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  54. Do you Believe in Magic? | Geek Ergo Sum
  55. Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic? | Good Stories From Everywhere
  56. I Looked for a Quote About Magic, and Was Instructed to Remove My Own Liver | flurrious
  57. It’s a kinda magic | Fictionalism
  58. THE MAGIC | Diary of a mind
  59. Daily Prompt: The Last Blessing | Morrighan’s Muse
  60. A kind of magic: I am the mouse | I like country when it rocks
  61. Pure Magic, so it is. | Ideolectable
  62. Epicurious 2014 | Random Musings Of A Hotel Goddess
  63. 2014 is here, can you feel the magic? | litebeing chronicles
  64. Magic | lostguy35
  65. Daily Prompt: Do You Believe in Magic? | The Uncustomary Housewife
14 comments

  1. so heart touching story and not be apply on the people who are really helpless. All the people must keep birds’ eye on the surroundings that what is really happen and then take an action about the violation

Blather away, if you like.

