The Fact We Live May Be An Accident

Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth

Share a time when you narrowly avoided disaster.

I was 5 years old. My parents, two older sisters, and I were driving home from the auto races at the Allentown Speedway in Allentown, Ohio just few miles west of Lima, Ohio.

The races had been cancelled because of rain. Mom drove. We were stopped at the light at the Old Westinghouse plant on Lima’s south side on old Route 25.

I was asleep in my dad’s lap. It was hurting my dad’s knee so he asked my sisters in the back seat to take me.

“Oh, dad, can’t you keep him up there,” Char said.

“We’re all stretched out,” Becky said. “There’s no room back here.”

“We’re almost home,” dad said and lifted me over the seat. “So take him.”

My sisters grabbed me and sat me between them.

A little more than a minute later I heard Mom scream. I’ve never heard a scream like that before or after. I stood and saw headlights coming toward us.

The next thing remembered I was walking aimlessly around the wreckage of our car. There was an eerie silence interrupted only by the rain patting on the pavement and the sound of windshield wipers. There were no human voices. I began crying. I thought everybody was dead, but me. Suddenly Mom moaned. My sisters began crying.

Dad made no sound.

In time the ambulances came. Dad was the first to be taken away. Mom was told that he was likely not going to live.

Dad recovered. Injuries to his chest were massive; every rib was broken.

That was my narrow escape from death. Recall moments earlier my head was nestled in my dad’s lap and he handed me to my sisters in the back seat. Likely, I would not have survived the impact.

That’s been over sixty years ago. In this very strange way I’d like to go back and hold that dysfunctional family of five close to me and tell them everything will be all right, but there is a lesson; life and family are precious.

Life is a remarkable design. What happens after that seems like a series of accidents that take our lives or extends it. People loose there lives by reason of accidents, but I suspect many more of us are living because of accidents. By accident we were not at the wrong place at the wrong time. It probably happens more times than we care to think about.

Bloggers With Close Calls

  1. Unwritten.. | gypsy thoughts ..
  2. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | RealMoney
  3. By the Skin of Your Teeth | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | Awl and Scribe
  5. of aggression « Anawnimiss
  6. The Great Escape | The Ambitious Drifter
  7. Narrowly avoiding disaster | Angel Frouk
  8. Escape | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  9. The Fact We Live May Be An Accident | The Jittery Goat
  10. My Teeth’s Skin | charlottesville winter
  11. S. Thomas Summers | I Bid the Trees to Move
  12. If I want some serious adventure I will watch an R18 film | thoughtsofrkh
  13. T-Bone Steak | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  14. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth « cognitive reflection
  15. CRASH! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  16. It’s a Big Deal If It’s Your Problem | The Thoughts’ Outlet
  17. Almost Normal Takeoff | Kansa Muse
  18. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | Basically Beyond Basic
  19. No One Gets Out Alive | Finale to an Entrance
  20. The Lurker’s List | An Escape and a Lesson
  21. Curse of the Bed Bunk! | The Number FiftyTwo
  22. LIFE CHANGING GIFTS | hastywords
  23. Daily Prompt: Skinnin’ | One Starving Activist
  24. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of your Teeth | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. Daily Prompt: Close Calls | A Good One
  26. The bus and my bag | Life is great
  27. My Old Dog Fell Down the Steps But He Got Up
  28. Near Mishap | Flowers and Breezes
  29. Beauty & Innocence | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  30. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | A Mixed Bag
  31. Daily Prompt: Photography Challenge – ESCAPE | Nicola Kirk
  32. JUST A FEW INCHES | SERENDIPITY
  33. Facing Danger | A mom’s blog
  34. The Escape | I Write Therefore I Am
  35. Dear Addiction, It’s Time To Say Our Final “Goodbye”……. | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  36. Bus slipping away | crookedeyebrows
  37. By the Skin of Your Teeth | The Nameless One
  38. Almost… | Retrofocus
  39. Escape Has Many Faces…..(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  40. Surfer Rob does not always think things through | Rob’s Surf Report
  41. Death waits all | Emotional Fitness
  42. Escape | johnny ojanpera
  43. Escape- Daily Prompt | The Rider
  44. How Smoking Saved My Life | 61 Musings
  45. Almost . . . But Not Quite | meanderedwanderings
  46. Dear Addiction, It’s Time To Say Our Final “Goodbye”……. | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  47. The story of MM, Helga and the flying car. | Multifarious meanderings
  48. The Great Escape | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  49. Peril Atop Mount Timpanogas: An Adventure to Last a Lifetime | Odds and End Thoughts
  50. Daily Prompt- By the skin of your teeth | hippiebitch420
  51. By the Skin of My Teeth | Kerry C. Mitchell’s Adventures
  52. Daily Prompt – Crashing | My Gap Year Adventure
  53. I Think That Field is on Fire | Manresa, Maine
  54. It’s December. | The Land Slide Photography
  55. Daily prompt: Avoiding disaster – best tip | helen meikle’s scribblefest

6 comments

  1. I don’t want to assign such a moment to mere accident. I think that you were not meant to die that day, that God had something else in mind for you, that there were lives you were meant to touch, things you were meant to do. It boggles the mind when we try to contemplate what your life’s potential can be. So, no accident at all I think. Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

Blather away, if you like.

