There Is A Creepy Arrogance About The Daily Prompts

"I'm king of the world!" "Ah, go sit down."
“I’m king of the world!”
“Ah, go sit down.”

Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us

You have been named supreme ruler of the universe. Your first order of business is creating and instituting a holiday or festival in your honor. What day of the year is your holiday? What special events will take place? Describe YOU DAY in as great a detail as you can muster: the special foods we’ll consume, the decorations we’ll use…everything.

Creating a challenge for the Daily Prompt is tough. The reason why I have accepted the challenge is because I want to test my ability to write something on anything and it’s hard for me to come up with stuff.

I consider the challenge and try to match it as closely as possible. I’m not always right on the mark, but as one “Prompter” said many months ago, the point is to post each day with something whatever the Prompt inspires in you.

I read some of the prompts and some attack the challenge with great enthusiasm. Personally I have dug deep into my self to pull out something that might be meaningful, entertaining, amusing, witty, instructional, and well-crafted.

As of late my enthusiasm has waned. The challenges seem sophomoric. They are not sparks that ignite the imagination, but huge douses of water that seem to stifle it. They seem self-ingratiating focusing on grandiosity.

I’m truly grateful for the Daily Prompt. It has introduced me to some fine bloggers and imaginative writers. I feel that they struggle also with the challenges of late, not in an intellectual sense, but embarrassed to participate because of the immature nature and approach.

Nevertheless, I will offer something for today’s prompt.

No human is worthy of a holiday. It makes them arrogant, god-like, worshipful, and bores.

Prompts like this make people write as if the world revolves around them. Good writers write about the world that revolves around them as if they are merely observers. The essence of good writing is to write in such a way the reader is caught-up in the subject and not the writer.

Writers can be arrogant, but they can’t write arrogantly.

Omnipotent Bloggers

  1. The Lurker’s List | Our Day
  2. The Sweet and Treacherous New King | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  3. Daily Prompt: Happy Me Day | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  4. Dates in December | Sue’s Trifles
  5. Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us | Awl and Scribe
  6. There Is A Creepy Arrogance About The Daily Prompts | The Jittery Goat
  7. Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us « Mama Bear Musings
  8. Festivus | Miss Pelican’s Perch
  9. Festive? | Faith, Life and Compassion
  10. I Proclaim This Day…. | Finale to an Entrance
  11. What a Day that Would Be! | meanderedwanderings
  12. Holidaze… | cacramer01’s Blog
  13. Festival Of Flowers | Flowers and Breezes
  14. Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  15. Happy Happy Holidays! Wooohooowooo! | Haiku By Ku
  16. Feast From Another Perspective | annezheng
  17. A Call For Prayer | Kansa Muse
  18. Your Birthday | sixty, single and surviving
  19. Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us | kimmiecode 🙂
  20. The International Day of Sue Kerr – We Need a Holiday
  21. Festivus, the Festival of the People | I Write Therefore I Am
  22. Just a fantasy… | Hope* the happy hugger
  23. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Festive (Jesus)
  24. My First Post of Many–Daily Prompt: FESTIVUS FOR THE REST OF US | J. Oliver The Writer
  25. Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us | Basically Beyond Basic
  26. Too selfish | Life is great
  27. Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us | Crow Arrow, Inc.
  28. Festivus for the Rest of Us | The Nameless One
  29. 52 weeks a year, every year from now on | The Number FiftyTwo
  30. Intergalactic Hotspur Day? Meh. No Thanks | Edward Hotspur
  31. Festive Eid | A mom’s blog
  32. Daily Prompt: It’s All About Me | One Starving Activist
  33. chelepalooza celebration | peacefulblessedstar
  34. Bathed in Light | vic briggs
  35. My Favorite Things | Active Army Wife
  36. Someone knows how to be | The Land Slide Photography
  37. Festivus for the Rest of Us | Geek Ergo Sum
  38. Happy Christina Day: Bring your own toy 😉 | Passionate Dreaming
  39. The Longest Beach Day | Timey-Wimey Adventures
  40. Meeting the Santa – Festivities (Photography) | Global Annal

31 comments

  1. Thanks for voicing my own sentiments. Krista has this knack for evoking…..something, I don’t know what. I suspect she is an artist. Hope you’re feeling better, are getting some rest, and have a wise, non-speaking pet close by.

  2. I think I agree – but I’m not sure I’d do any better. I bet you could though – why not spend a day writing prompts instead of responding to one you don’t much like, and offer them? They’ve often credited people who have thought them up before? I throw down the gauntlet! He he!

  3. I have to agree with Hedwigia. I think that creating the daily prompts would be extremely challenging. Maybe what we need is a periodic writing challenge to submit 10 writing prompts. I pass on a lot of daily prompts just because there is nothing in the topic that speaks to me, but I don’t know if I’d ever be able to do a better job. Thanks for voicing the subject, Kenton.

  4. I’ve been noticing that the prompts are “all about me” lately. That is a sure way to make people write; “write about yourself…..!” We all love to talk about ourselves. But I have to say….. it gives me ideas because an old brain in full of memories. It prompts me to write.

  5. I agree with your assessment about the prompts! So I have not been writing at all. I am pondering a different approach and maybe even a different blog. But I would lose the few followers I have. Oh well….life is full of change. I think the prompts stop me from writing about what is in MY mind on a given day and that is what I wanted to do.

    Regards,

    Sent from my IPad.

    >

  6. I too have been looking for a prompt that inspires me, and I haven’t seen it lately. I didn’t really give much thought as to why, but what you say is very wise and makes sense. Prompt writing is a challenge all its own. I simply pick and choose and don’t force myself to write to the prompts. Maybe that’s a lazy approach, but at least I don’t ever let them keep me from writing what’s on my mind. Thanks for the ever thoughtful essay.
    BB

  7. I agree very much on what you say and for this reason I have always regarded the “prompts” as just prompts. I have been blogging for a few years, not always daily, my first main site being Yahoo 350 and afterwards migrated to Multiply when Yahoo went down. Multiply died the financial death, they owners wanted more and now they have nothing. I knew WordPress for some time and when I discovered a daily food for thought I realised this was what I needed. I often write out of the box, as today, and I regard the subjects as really just prompts, nothing more and nothing less. I too have met many wonderful people here and it is all an inspiration to carry on regardless. See you around Jittery Goat.

    • Very good comment. I appreciate what you said. And perhaps you may have been the one who gave me the advise many months ago.
      My point is that the prompts are not really challenging. It’s like asking what is you favorite color? You really can’t attach much depth to it. Then, again, maybe I’m expecting something different. Maybe I’m blaming my lack of imagination on somebody besides myself.

  8. I agree. Sometimes it is very difficult to write at times because of the topic but it is a challenge to write something challenging on some of the topics that does not compromise my beliefs and desire not to write too personal. I believe they have a difficult job which is why sometimes they repeat so I avoid making common and will just not blog for the day their topics.. Sometimes I just post a picture because of the subject. Today i will search for an old photo for the challenge because this one really bothers me because of my beliefs. The only way I could write something for this challenge would be a non-fiction story or a poem.

  9. Hi Lewis I’ve been following and reading your blog for sometime. I’ve always enjoyed the reads. However, I would agree that there are times when the idea box stops responding whether given a challenge or not.When anything strikes me, I always go back to mother nature- enjoy it, observe it and come back all energized. ;).

    • Very good advice. Thanks much for it and I certainly can’t argue the point.
      And you are likely right about the idea box. Sometimes it just hits me wrong. And it is likely just me, but judging from comments, others feel the same frustration.

  10. “…..a bit much…life is full of change….essay…..see you around, you old goat.” Hah! And you said you couldn’t write a prompt! Krista, you’ve got us again!!!!!!!!!!

  11. I couldn’t agree more that 99.9% of the time, no one wants to hear writers go on and on about themselves like they’re God. It’s conceded when they’re serious about it. Hopefully no one here gets the idea that they really have a shot at ruling the universe. Luckily, mine was over-the-top and I had some fun with it!

    • Thanks for commenting. I’m sure few took it serious, but it just leaves room for writers or anyone to go on about themselves, which we do too often anyway. We certainly don’t need a prompt.

Blather away, if you like.

