The Train On The Tracks

Daily Prompt: Daring Do

thCAGCBT98Tell us about the time you rescued someone else (person or animal) from a dangerous situation. What happened? How did you prevail?

This was posted just a couple of weeks ago for another Daily Prompt, but it fit so well with the current one I decided to re-post it.

It was one of life’s irritants. A train was sitting just beyond the crossing, the lights flashing, the bells ringing and the gates were down. Immediately I saw why; the crossing was a two-track crossing and another train sped along on the other set of tracks.

On the other side of the tracks was a man in a pickup truck with his son standing in the seat next to him who appeared to be about three. The man became impatient and started to maneuver around the gates.

From his vantage point all he saw was the train sitting just off the crossing. That train shielded his vision from the oncoming train on the other set of tracks.

I motioned with my hands.

He ignored me.

I jumped from my car and ran toward the tracks waving and yelling.

He stopped, gave me the finger, and shouted obscenities. My distraction and the time that it took him to do that slowed him enough that the oncoming train sped into the crossing before he was able to enter the crossing.

One can only imagine what would have occurred if he was in the crossing at the same time as the train.

A couple of minutes passed during which time I thanked God for allowing me to be there at the right time and I asked Him to forgive the man for taking His name in vain.

The train passed, the gates lifted, the lights stopped blinking, and the bell stopped ringing. There was a strange and eerie silence as if the moment needed reverence.

On the other side of the tracks was the man in the truck. I got a good look at him; late 20’s, mullet, and camouflage shirt. The type of guy who might pull a gun on you for cutting him off in traffic.

He wasn’t moving.

I pulled even with his window.

“You okay?” I said.

He looked at his son who was oblivious to what could have occurred. He turned to me with a quivering chin and tears streaming down his cheek. “He’s okay, but I’m not sure about me. Ya did good. Thanks a lot, man.”

“Hug him tight tonight,” I said and drove on.

Daring Bloggers

  1. The Train On The Tracks | The Jittery Goat
  2. Minor irritations | Chittle Chattle
  3. Daring Do | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Diary of Dennis
  6. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | kimmiecode 🙂
  7. El Hombre Viril: The Abridged Epic of Julio and the Sun God | Finale to an Entrance
  8. Saving an abused child | alienorajt
  9. An 8 month old called Lili | The Number FiftyTwo
  10. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Basically Beyond Basic
  11. bold | yi-ching lin photography
  12. Saved the Giddy Goat | Underneath her little mind
  13. Daring Do At Your Rescue | Kansa Muse
  14. When I Was Supermom | mycookinglifebypatty
  15. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  16. …is beautiful | peacefulblessedstar
  17. A Failed Rescue | Flowers and Breezes
  18. Daring Do | nanopod: hybrid studio
  19. Your Journey Is Your Own | The Nameless One
  20. Rescued | Life is great
  21. My Rescue! | Haiku By Ku
  22. DAILY PROMPT: PUTTING OUT THE FIRE | SERENDIPITY
  23. Simon Rescued Himself
  24. Bold | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  25. ted corbitt and i | fragments of life
  26. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | My Extraordinary Everyday Life
  27. Top O’ The World Ma (Daily Prompt: Daring Do – Bold) | PCH Traveler
  28. I think the stars are a little out of alignment | Rob’s Surf Report
  29. BOLD | Active Army Wife
  30. DP Challenge: In the End…He is Still an Animal « Morning Pages
  31. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | My Atheist Blog
  32. When I Found Her, She Was Not There…(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  33. The Pistol | johnny ojanpera
  34. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | soulfoodwords
  35. Bold (how I saved my soul) | Stories from aside
  36. Moving On From the Negative: Daily Prompts | Scorched Ice
  37. Daily Prompt: Heroine | One Starving Activist
  38. Daily Prompt Challenge: I Dared To Help A Friend In Recovery Crisis | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  39. Up, Up and Away! | meanderedwanderings
  40. My Role of Rescuer – To My Drama-Addicted Family
  41. derring-done | sarahscapes
  42. Zakc Head
  43. TO SAVE THE WORLD | hastywords
  44. Daily Prompt: Daring Do: Hello? | UP! With Jesus
  45. Daily Prompt: Daring Do | Lost Bulldog! 😦 | House of Farts
  46. The Pass – a short story. | Kate Murray
12 comments

  1. I used to live about 1/4 of a mile from railroad tracks when I was young. I have seen people do this more that once. The farmer that had a dairy did this and died. I used to “play” on the tracks and we would put pennies to smash. This brought chills to me. You were wonderful for doing this. I am so glad it worked out for the best.

Blather away, if you like.

