Gutman, Ohio; The Jittery Goat Travel Log – Places I’ve Been

Gutman, a hundred years ago, in its heyday.
Gutman, a hundred years ago, in its heyday.

Gutman, Ohio is on Route 65 about 5 1/2 miles north of Jackson Center, Ohio.

I lived near Gutman.

The neat thing about this place is that you don’t have to slow down when you go through it. That makes the average legal speed 55 MPH, perhaps the highest average legal speed limit within an entire population center in the nation.

It’s unclear from where Gutman got its name. I don’t want to know how Gutman got its name, but something must have happened there and it wasn’t good.

Nobody famous came from Gutman. Somebody famous drove through Gutman, but refused to be identified.

At one time a store was there. I needed milk so went in to buy some.

I asked the guy who ran the place where the milk was.

“Dairy, aisle 12,” he said.

I smiled. “There’s only one aisle.”

‘We started with twelve,” he said. “We were expecting bigger things.”

I went to the dairy case. There was only one gallon remaining. I looked at the date. “Hey,” I said. “This expired ten days ago.”

“My, how time flies,” he said. “We’re expecting a delivery tomorrow. We’ll have fresh then.”

“I’ll just come back tomorrow,” I said.

“Before ya go can ya do me a favor,” he said.

“Sure,” I said. “What’s that?”

“Slide that gallon of milk down about two feet in the dairy case,” he said. “That’s the cottage cheese section.”

3 comments

  1. Lol what a story…I was curious about Gutman…so I went to Google it, I figured it was probably German, as gutt in German is good:
    “Last name origins & meanings:

    Jewish (Ashkenazic): ornamental name or nickname from German, Yiddish gut ‘good’ + man(n) ‘man’; it was also used as a male personal name, from which the surname may be derived in some cases.
    Americanized spelling of German Gut(h)mann (see Guthman).

    Read more on FamilyEducation: http://genealogy.familyeducation.com/surname-origin/gutman#ixzz2nMWOptri

      • Thought that might be so, I’m originally (U.S.wise) from the State of Illinois…my people were Austrian German with Jewish background on one side and Germans from the north on the other…Gutman sounded familiar. 🙂

Blather away, if you like.

