Doing The Right Thing Can Leave You Lonely

Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim

Tell us about a time when you were left on your own, to fend for yourself in an overwhelming situation — on the job, at home, at school. What was the outcome?

We are often left with moments like these. Sometimes we are caught between doing what is popular and what is right. We may have a principle we feel impelled to stick to in the face of much opposition. It may call for action or inaction. It may call for the truth when the lie is more convenient and expedient.

It may mean acknowledging a personal fault or that of others. Friendships, reputations, business opportunities may suffer or be extinguished.

For me, personally, I wish it could be said I have always done the appropriate and right thing. Often times my own personal shortcomings and prejudices have been in the way of good judgment or apposite conduct or actions.

They are moments you wished could be erased, but to erase them would leave you open to repeat the same mistakes over and over again.

Many years ago my company asked me to be a part of a taskforce to improve the efficiency of our department. I accepted.

What hung in the balance was our company remaining competitive.

I worked in a union shop. Things like this proposed by the company always signals the possibility of losing union jobs because of becoming more efficient; greater efficiency sometimes means less workers.

To me is was obvious if our department did not become more efficient business would be lost. There was no way we could keep the business and number of employees we currently had by maintaining the status quo.

Nearly every person in our department shunned me and spoke disparagingly of me behind my back.

I remained in the department until all projects were in place and all efficiency measures were implemented.

I transferred to another department where I became a pariah of sorts. I was looked upon with suspicion and distrust. People were afraid to speak with me. Conversations stopped as I approached. Those things were nearly intolerable at times. It lasted for nearly 15 years.

During that period of time my old department flourished, the work force was maintained and even increased.

The day I retired the same processes and improvements were in place that were implemented by the taskforce 20 years earlier.

What I did was unpopular, but I knew it was the right thing to do.

 

  1. Russian Accordionist | Photos to inspire you
  2. Perseverance | The Magic Black Book
  3. Sink or Swim | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Persist | thinkerscap
  5. Sink, Swim or Fly | The Ambitious Drifter
  6. Endure | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  7. Alone Again Naturally | Finale to an Entrance
  8. DEPRESSED OPTIMIST + PAINTS + BRUSHES | Standing Ovation, Seated
  9. The deep end of the pool | RPMAS
  10. PROMPT: Sink or Swim | AvaLlea’s Blog
  11. Silent Agony… | paperdollsletter
  12. Doing The Right Thing Can Leave You Lonely | The Jittery Goat
  13. I said loudly, in my best English tourist voice, “Does this go to…” | thoughtsofrkh
  14. True beauty | Veni, vici, vidi
  15. The Tow Truck Driver Drove a Chariot
  16. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Awl and Scribe
  17. God’s Grace | A mom’s blog
  18. Sinking not an option for cowards | crookedeyebrows
  19. Women in East : One Perspective ! | Dreams to Reality !
  20. Winter Water | The Ring Lady
  21. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim – A migrant’s story | littlegirlstory
  22. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Finding Life
  23. Whatever It Takes | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  24. Sink or swim? | Motherhood and Beyond
  25. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim – My Car Buying Experience | The Story of a Guy
  26. When life steals your lemons… | Words
  27. Perseverance in Harness | Kansa Muse
  28. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  29. Sink or Swim? So limiting… | It’s my blog, innit…
  30. Even a Fool Can See | Not a Punk Rocker
  31. Learning Patience… | Haiku By Ku
  32. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Basically Beyond Basic
  33. Daily Prompt: Dive! Dive! Dive! | One Starving Activist
  34. The debate | Life is great
  35. “By Myself” | Active Army Wife
  36. DP Challenge: Sink or Swim « Morning Pages
  37. Tree Trials | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  38. Sink or Swim? | mineisdee
  39. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim/ Out on my Own | The Smallest of Stars
  40. Sing or Swim – Compass & Quill
  41. Sink or Swim | Bright Tuesday
  42. Drown or paddle | LauGraEva
  43. ALONE WITH SHAME | Emotional Fitness
  44. Daily Prompt: Scar | Morrighan’s Muse
  45. At The End Of My Last Dime! | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  46. Blue Loft
  47. The Glowing Tree | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  48. Glub, glub, glub … (sink or swim) | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  49. Extreme business as usual | Le Drake Noir
  50. Treading Water | A Good One
  51. Daily Post:Sink or Swim #poetry #photography #dpchallenge | Moondustwriter’s Blog
  52. Old Glory | Real Life Co.
  53. Constant | Words on a Page
  54. Leap of Faith | A Room of One’s Own
  55. Loneliness sucks! | The Flavored Word
  56. On My Own | Flowers and Breezes
  57. Stranger | Radioactive Bubblegum
  58. Out of My Comfort Zone | The Mockingbird in Me
  59. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Winging it
  60. Daily Prompt/Critical Care | The Between
  61. Hanging chickens, washing machines and a screaming pink smell | Many musings blog’s Blog
  62. Sink or Swim – Part 1 | A Story About A Girl
  63. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts
  64. A Hundred and Four Questions with No Answers | Virginia Views
  65. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim…Hit or Miss, What will you Pick? | Isabel MissV
  66. Sinking While Swimming | Mountains or Molehills
  67. Sink or Swim | The Pigeon Blog
  68. Sink or Swim | I Write Therefore I Am
  69. Sink or Swim! ACK!!!!! The stress!!! *grumble* | Kawanee’s Korner
  70. Sink or Swim | draccoonian
  71. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Pampered Pussy
  72. Day and Night | Retrofocus
  73. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim. | eBook Sharing
  74. Sink or Swim: Perseverance | My Conscious Self
  75. Perseverance… The Word for the Day (Hebrews 12:1) | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel

22 comments

    • Being able to cope well with being alone is definitely a good skill to have. I don’t think it’s the optimal way to live though. It’s just not the way humans were designed to live. But sometimes being alone seems like the better choice in this unnatural world.

  1. It’s so often that the right things aren’t always the most popular. That had to be hard on you. Thank you for sharing perhaps it will open eyes.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. There is always certain degree of comfort in doing the right thing rather than what appears popular. I always slept well and even those not favorably disposed toward me trusted and regarded me.

  2. Most of the time people just want to remain popular and fail to take decisions that help. …… Well as they say Eagles fly alone

Blather away, if you like.

