What I Think Of Tattoos

Above all, tattoos should be honest.
Above all, tattoos should be honest.

Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?

Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

This post will offend many, of that I’m certain. Tattoos are stupid. I have not seen one that made me feel as if the person who has it is better for it.

They are an indication something is lacking in their own self-image that they must cover it with something. It could be the same with outlandish hair styling, clothing, or immodest behavior.

Years ago only drunken sailors or soldiers obtained them. They were evidence of a once debauched life. After leaving debauchery the person sought ways to hide them.

Why are they called ‘tramp stamps?’ They seem now to be mainstream. Many try to legitimize them by saying, look at all the stars that have them like Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie.’ I always say, “Thank you, you made my point.”

Yeah, I know they have now been upgraded from tattooing to body art and have elevated sleazy tattooers to body artist. I’ve never seen a good tattoo. Anything put on the skin looks better on paper or canvas. The things I see as tattoos are most often seen on moving boxcars, bus stop benches, or the side of warehouses. And people want that low-life excuse for art someplace on their body?

Certainly if you have a tattoo it doesn’t mean I view you as a deranged reprobate, you just had a lapse in judgment and now spending needless time trying to cover it up or justifying it.

They are to the body what vulgar language is to speech.

I always thought a good tattoo would be to label and section yourself like a side of beef. Another one would be a dotted line around the throat that read, “Cut along dotted line.”

If you are thinking about getting a tattoo here is some advice; 1. Sober up. 2. Find new friends. 3. Shop in a better part of town. 4. Appreciate how much better you look without one.

I may have written this before, but it needs repeating.

A friend who owned a business who employed about 50 people stood in line at a 7/11. Behind him was a mountain of man covered with tattoos.

“Hey, don’t I know you?” the man said to my friend.

“You don’t look familiar?” my friend said.

“You interviewed me for a job at your place,” the man said.

“I interview a lot of people,” my friend said. “You may have been one of them.”

“Why didn’t you hire me?” the man said.

“I don’t recall at the moment,” my friend said. “But I probably had a good reason.”

“Was it because of my tattoos?” the man said.

“That could be,” my friend said.

“Why?” the man said.

“In my line of work my employees go into homes of little old ladies who live alone,” my friend said. “And frankly your tattoos are scary.”

“They don’t tell the person I am on the inside,” the man said.

My friend smiled kindly. “Oh yes, they do.”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Try it | Photos to inspire you
  2. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You? | Under the Monkey Tree
  3. Tattoos | Kate Murray
  4. Port Cullis | alienorajt
  5. What I Think Of Tattoos | The Jittery Goat
  6. Family & Faith | Active Army Wife
  7. My Ink, My Story | Finale to an Entrance
  8. Tattoo… You? | Relax
  9. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | A Mixed Bag
  10. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Awl and Scribe
  11. My First Tattoo | Steve Boer Photography
  12. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Olivia May Photography
  13. Should you Tattoo? | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  14. Permenant | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  15. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…..You? | Steve Says….
  16. Tattoos, A big No-No | A mom’s blog
  17. The Accidental Tattoo | A Buick in the Land of Lexus
  18. INK can’t Hide me ! | Dreams to Reality !
  19. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | timzauto…. in search of the blond haired kid
  20. Daily Prompt:Tatto…..You? | Motherhood and Beyond
  21. Tattoo — You? | Flowers and Breezes
  22. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….. You? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Daily Prompt: Proudly Inked | One Starving Activist
  24. A tattoo! Or two…or three… | wordsandotherthings
  25. Tattoo. | Bullet holes in the wall
  26. Tattoo… Me! | Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  27. Body and Soul: of mundane miracles and secular sacraments | Muddy River Muse
  28. Tattoos….You? That is the question. | Kansa Muse
  29. Tatted Up! | meanderedwanderings
  30. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Everyday Adventures
  31. Who Needs a Tattoo? I’ve Got A Blog!
  32. Sunday Confessions | Cheri Speak
  33. Kissing the sky. | Inside of love
  34. To Be Continued… | Charron’s Chatter
  35. The tattoo that I have, and the ones I want | And I write
  36. Tattoos | Mountains or Molehills
  37. Daily Prompt: Tattoo’s the Diverse Art | Bowl of Rice
  38. Ink’d | A Room of One’s Own
  39. A Mark For Life | annezheng
  40. On Tattoos | Not the Family Business!
  41. Tattoo? – One Day | My Play Nook
  42. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Basically Beyond Basic
  43. How and Why I Decided To Get Inked | noinpart
  44. Skin Deep | All work and quite a lot of play
  45. Tattoo….You? | The Nameless One
  46. Permanent ink. | Simple Heart Girl
  47. DAILY PROMPT: TATTOO — ME! PHOENIX RISING! | SERENDIPITY
  48. Tattooed Memories… | Haiku By Ku
  49. Daily Prompt: Love Never Lasting | Morrighan’s Muse
  50. The Lover’s Kiss | unaware but underlined
  51. Impermanence | vic briggs
  52. The Boob Report – Tits for Tats | Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride
  53. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You? | Poetry
  54. Tattoo….You? | Trina’s North Germany
  55. Get your tattoo here | tjbarkerseattle
  56. My Forest | unaware but underlined
  57. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Red Herrings
  58. Tattoo | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  59. To Tattoo or Not to Tattoo?…..(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  60. Sword – The Tatoo | Thoughts
  61. My Tattoo Changed My Life | Notes by Natalie
  62. Permanent PROOF | unaware but underlined
  63. Daily Prompt: Tattoo……You? | Sorrowful Decay
  64. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…. You? | SIM | ANTICS
  65. Tattoos. Body Art or Body Damage? | Mr. Johnson’s Blog
  66. Tattoo or not tattoo? | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  67. Mince and tatties | Land of Dope and Tories
  68. 1.12 Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  69. Tattoo…You? | My Conscious Self
  70. Daily Prompt: Tattoo You? | BulgingButtons
  71. Tons Of Little Tattoos, BIG Meanings | unaware but underlined
  72. Time for a – Tattoo? Who? Me? | Words ‘n Pics
  73. You Have a Tattoo? « disappearinginplainsight
  74. Daily Prompt – Tattoo…You? | The Wittering Wallflower
  75. Daily Prompt: Tattoo You | An almanac for concerned citizens and boysenberry jam fans
  76. Permanent | The Magic Black Book
  77. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You | Off The Beaten Path (Being Silly in the City)
  78. If I Chose Tattoes | mycookinglifebypatty
  79. Gilded Warrior
  80. Daily Post: Tattoo | Mac’s Blog
  81. Tattoo! | MissEmilyMarie23
  82. Never | Life is great
  83. Prompt: Tattoo | E aos 30…
  84. Why the random posts | Jarime’s Blog
  85. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | jane sleeps here
  86. Daily Prompt : Tattoo …. Me? | LoudThoughtsVoicedOut
  87. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You? It’s in the Stars. | Mommy Problems
  88. An Unfading Commitment | .:Lani’s Summer in Rain
  89. Inked Up: Passion, not Profession | Blagoevgrad Narrates
  90. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | White Girl In A Dupatta
  91. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?, Or: Blank Skin, Too Many Choices! | polymathically
  92. The Permanent To-Do-List | Holoholo Girls
  93. Daily Prompt: Taurus Tattoo
  94. “The Daily Prompt | Tattoo…You”, Or Rosie has a change of opinion on the subject of ink | Rosie Writes…
  95. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | GG’s World
  96. Inked. | FadingSunlight
  97. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | The Blogging Path

38 Comments

  1. I have a tattoo. I don’t consider it stupid and I was not drunk when I had it done. It was a beautiful photo I found on the internet that I transformed into a beautiful tattoo on my back left shoulder. I was in my 40’s when I had it done and I don’t regret it for a minute. I realize you have a strong dislike of tattoos and I respect your opinion. They are not for everyone. But please don’t categorize a person with tattoos as someone less than the same human being that you are or liken it to swearing. I’m a loving, happy person with a good job who has a great social network and a strong faith. No, my tattoo did not change who I am in any way, but that wasn’t the point in my case. I don’t love all tattoos, especially those that are profane or hateful, but I understand why it’s done and why it has become mainstream. Tattoos are part of the human culture…freedom of choice and expression…the same as seven crazy football fans who stand shirtless in a football stadium with the letters P-A-C-K-E-R-S painted on their chests when the temp is 10 degrees. Now THAT is stupid!

  2. Very interesting prompt. Although I strongly disagree with just about everything you said, you definitely raised some valid points. Btw my tattoo is a gorgeous sparrow and latin writing which means “she who flys with her own wings”. Tattoos tell a story. Some bad, some good but it’s not fair to assume tattoos = stupidity. Just because its not on paper or canvas doesn’t mean it’s not art.

  3. I don’t agree, but I respect that you have your own opinion, and fundament it. I’m not offended either. But I do believe you are creating stereotypes, and those are dangerous.
    Not all tattoos are bad, not all tattooers are sleazy. Far from that. The ones I know come from an art background, they did their studies on it, and then decided to apply that art to skin instead of canvases.
    There are some terrible accidents with tattoos that aren’t worth the name, but there are beautiful intricate tattoos that do tell a story, and most definitely have a meaning.
    So, for me, each case is a case.

    1. Like I said. some will spend much time trying to justify. As far as artist are concerned just because they left traditional art to join up with the back alley strip mall crowd doesn’t make it art or legitimize it.

  4. I realize where this thought comes from.. Initially not only just drunk sailors but people from the Russian Mafia or Yakuza were the ones who got the tattoos. Hence the stereotype has developed about tattooed people being scary/not fit for workplaces that require meeting clients and so on..

    To each their own.. Many people in a drunken stupor get a tattoo that they regret for long.. Some people get asian characters which they cannot read themselves. Others have tattoo that mean something to them

Blather away, if you like.

