All I Ever Wanted Was An MG Midget

That is what I would like to have.
That is what I would like to have.

Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Joneses

Tell us about the one luxury item you wish you could afford, in as much detail as you can. Paint a picture for us.

I’ve never wanted a luxury item. Sure I’ve thought about how nice it might be to have a yacht or perhaps live in a mansion, but it was always with a certain smile on my face as if saying to myself, “Poor lad, you know that will never happen.”

I have never been attracted to or by luxury. If I buy something it is always the cheapest. My wife has to buy coats for me because if left to me I’d never replace my old worn-out ones.

I don’t know why, I’m that way. I just am.

Several years ago I revealed a secret passion to a friend.

“I’ve always wanted an MG Midget,” I said.

“I’ll sell you one for $50,” he said.

“I can’t,” I said. “I can’t even justify $50 for one.”

“Okay,” he said. “It’s free.”

“What!” I said.

“It’s in my barn,” he said. “You’d be doing me a favor by just taking it off my hands.”

My wife and I talked for a few minutes and she thought it would be a nice project for me to restore it.

This is what I ended up with.
This is what I ended up with.

I had the MG Midget towed home.

For  the next few weeks I purchased all sorts of used tools to help in the restoration. I asked a friend who restored MGs to take a look at my MG.

“How much time are you willing to spend on this?” he asked.

“I’d like to have it done before I retire in two years,” I said.

“It will effect your marriage,” he said. “You’ll spend more time working on the car than you will with your wife.”

“Maybe that’s why she suggested the project,” I chuckled.

“How much are you willing to spend?” he said.

(Mind you, I’ve never done this type of thing before.”

“Oh, four maybe five thousand dollars,” I said.

My friend started laughing. “You’ll sink $15,000 in this before it’s even drivable.”

Well that was a sharp burst of reality.

My wife always said the only way I’d be behind the wheel and going down the road is if it was being pulled by a tow truck.

Two years later I sold it to my friend so he could use it for parts which is what I think he wanted all along.

That was the only thing I ever wanted to indulge myself with.

Bloggers in want:

  1. ermahgerhd | Afford a Vacation
  2. Covet Thy Love | The Magic Black Book
  3. Covet | Insanitree
  4. Daily Prompt: NOT Keeping up with the Jones’ but the birds & fishes | littlegirlstory
  5. Tall Summer Dreams | Blue Loft
  6. Fairy Dust | alienorajt
  7. Thy Shall Not Covert | Dear Yolandi
  8. Covet Artistically | Abstract Organized Chaos
  9. A Horse, Of Course | A Sign Of Life
  10. To be loved-Biggest luxury | મન ની વાત
  11. I have what I need, and that’s fine by me really. Want is too expensive anyway… | thoughtsofrkh
  12. Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’ | Under the Monkey Tree
  13. Covet | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  14. All I Ever Wanted Was An MG Midget | The Jittery Goat
  15. Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’ | Awl and Scribe
  16. Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’ « cognitive reflection
  17. Covet to Travel around the world | A Crazy Chef
  18. My Other Blog | Daily Prompt: Keeping Up With The Jones’
  19. Daily Prompt: Giving Thanks For What I Have | My Daily Prompt Blog
  20. the Tenth reason | Charron’s Chatter
  21. Are you kidding me? | Eyes to Heart
  22. DP: Coveting Luxury Items? | 3 Nish on a Journey
  23. Daily Prompt; Dear Santa; I would love an X-box | sixty, single and surviving
  24. Turkey! | Haiku By Ku
  25. 228. That One Thing | Barely Right of Center
  26. KILL THE ECONOMY | Emotional Fitness
  27. Daily Prompt: All I Want For Christmas | One Starving Activist
  28. Daily Prompt: | Kawanee’s Korner
  29. Real Luxury | crookedeyebrows
  30. How I am starting to deeply resent Lego and not just because of the bleeding feet | vazdanešto
  31. Daily Prompt: Keeping Up with the Jones’s..”Lavish” | Bowl of Rice
  32. S. Thomas Summers | Covet, Want, Take (Some Time)
  33. Keeping Up With the Jones’ – Daily Prompt | Write on J.B.
  34. Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’ | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  35. DAILY PROMPT: KEEPING UP WITH MYSELF | SERENDIPITY
  36. Time | Life is great
  37. The Enticement of Luxury | meanderedwanderings
  38. Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’ | Basically Beyond Basic
  39. Wish List | Flowers and Breezes
  40. Keeping up | The Nameless One
  41. Keeping up with the Jones’ | 61 Musings
  42. Who Needs the Jones’ (or An Island Unto Myself) | Finale to an Entrance
  43. Rob’s Surf Report
  44. Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’ | Finding Life
  45. Covet
  46. A Honeymoon Redo | Will Write For Sanity
  47. So It Is Another Black Friday… | Kansa Muse
  48. How to conquer a craving – give in! | Words ‘n Pics
  49. The Price of Luxury | vic briggs
  50. Only 4 wheels !! | Dreams to Reality !
  51. Keeping Up With the Jones’ | My Conscious Self
  52. Struck it rich! | Chasing Rabbit Holes
  53. Luxurious pie | JosieJolene
  54. Keeping Up With the Jones’ | RelativeSIMPLE
  55. Daily Prompt: A Horse | Overcoming Bloglessness
  56. Luxury pie | JosieJolene
  57. My very own microscope at home | Formidabulous
  58. A step by step, | The Land Slide Photography
  59. Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Joneses | SIM | ANTICS
  60. Beautiful Simplicity | Life’s Conversations
  61. Greener Grass | Mountains or Molehills

 

11 comments

  1. Funny story! Sorry you didn’t actually end up with an MG Midget. There was a time I wanted one, too. But, I am fickle when it comes to cars. My favorite was a 1984 Volvo boat of a sedan that I owned. I bought it when it was about 20 years old. I couldn’t convince my husband it was worth restoring once things started breaking down. I still miss that car.

Blather away, if you like.

