At What Should We Be Good?

Bob Hempker, still pretty good at what he does.
Bob Hempker, still pretty good at what he does.

Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me

Are you good at what you do? What would you like to be better at.

People who are good at what they do likely have only one ingredient that makes them good at what they do. It is something we all possess. It is endurance; endurance at a particular discipline. Not just the mindless repetition of a given discipline, but having in mind the idea of improving.

Several years ago the 10,000 hours of practice was offered as a bench mark for becoming good at something. There is nothing magical about that number, but many who had mastered a discipline and rose to the top of it were said to log-in at least 10,000 hours of practice in their given field.

This was based largely on the experience of musicians.

There are, of course, other factors such as genetics, environment, and desire to name a few. Anyone having all these ingredients if they don’t endure, they will not succeed or become good at what they do.

There must also be something else in a person that tells them ‘I can improve.’ and to never be satisfied with the current level of performance. Not to a point that nothing is ever good enough, because one must have a sober estimation of ones own work. One must have a healthy emotional and mental outlook of self.

Being good is best measured not in comparison with others, but in comparison with your own goals, abilities, and progress.

Not all disciplines recognize the best or most talented. And if they do there are many other factors that determine whether one is recognized as being good or not. Such things as being at the right place at the right time or knowing the right people.

I recall several years ago when Garth Brooks was at the very top of the country music world. He pointed down a street full of bars and clubs in Nashville and said, “I can go down this street and find at least a dozen guys that can sing better and are better looking than me. I can’t explain it.”

Being good at something does not bring fame or fortune. That should never be the measure of whether a person is good at something or not.

I have an old high school friend, Bob Hempker. Over the years he’s played steel guitar in bands for some of the biggest stars in country music. You might say he was at the top of his game.

In school we had a few classes together and were bonded by the same off-beat wry sense of humor that few understood. Somehow we got in touch with one another a couple of years back. He mentioned his years on the road as a musician. He had some successes and yet thoughtful enough to mention regrets.

Now in his mid sixties he said to me during one of our conversations, “I only play on the weekends now, but. I’m still a pretty decent musician.”

There was something about the way he said that. It sticks with me. There is little doubt he’s good, but the most important person he’s good to is himself.

What’s amazing is that he is the same person I cracked jokes with in Mrs. Klingler’s History class and Mr. Basinger’s English class. He was always aware of how good he was and what his limitations were.

I suppose if we choose to be good at anything it should be knowing who we are. Who else do we spend the most time with? At least 10,000 hours.

Other confident bloggers:

  1. Confident | Relax
  2. Daily Prompt: Confident « Vicariously Poetic
  3. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | kimmiecode 🙂
  4. Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  5. Girl on fire | Braised Pork on Rice
  6. I have confidence… Daily Prompt | The Rider
  7. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Moments Thru Lens
  9. S. Thomas Summers | A Teacher’s Unusual Duties: Up, Up, and Away
  10. Daily Prompt : I Have Confident in Me | My Extraordinary Everyday Life
  11. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Awl and Scribe
  12. I Have Confidence in Me | Kansa Muse
  13. Believe in yourself | Kate Murray
  14. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Everyday Adventures
  15. At What Should We Be Good? | The Jittery Goat
  16. Confidence | thinkerscap
  17. Are We Good At Blogging?
  18. ermahgerhd | and then i met this man
  19. Daily Prompt: Have Confidence in Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Writing | Life is great
  21. Sunday Confessions | Cheri Speak
  22. On My Way, But Not There Yet . . . | meanderedwanderings
  23. Head Held High | Daily Prompt | Word Disorder
  24. I Have Confidence in Me | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  25. Daily Prompt; I have confidence in me! | sixty, single and surviving
  26. I Have Confidence in Me: Neo | Khana’s Web
  27. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | lifebeinggirly
  28. Daily Prompt: Confidence Game | Morrighan’s Muse
  29. Inability to be political | Historiefortelling
  30. PowerPoint: Image Editor! | Nerdy Woman
  31. Petey’s Adventure Continues… | Haiku By Ku
  32. Confidence Games | A mom’s blog
  33. Fake it till you make it | I am Lynn
  34. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Active Army Wife
  35. Iron-clad Faith | Retrofocus
  36. My Confident world | A Crazy Chef
  37. Making contacts, marketing, and overcoming obstacles. | whyyouwanna
  38. Shaky Confidence | Flowers and Breezes
  39. DAILY PROMPT: CONFIDENTLY RESTORING ANA MCGUFFEY | SERENDIPITY
  40. I’ve the Confidence – WordPress Daily Prompt | Write on J.B.
  41. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Basically Beyond Basic
  42. Restyle Old Shirt | ~ronaleer~
  43. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | ღ Blank Doodles ღ
  44. Confidence | A Sign Of Life
  45. A musical history | Blogging Vogging…
  46. Replay | vic briggs
  47. I Have Confidence In Me! | 365 Days of Thank You
  48. Daily Prompt : I am confident in me | Mon beau manoir
  49. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | SIM | ANTICS
  50. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | 18 million pixels
  51. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | 3 Nish on a Journey
  52. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | omoadua’s Blog
  53. Green Thumbs Up | Mountains or Molehills
  54. I have confidence in me – oh yes, I do! | Chasing Rabbit Holes
  55. I wish I was better at… | My Weary Heart
  56. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me, Or: The Pardox Of The Shy, Adventurous Writer | polymathically
  57. I Have Confidence in Me? » Kryson’s Kreations
7 comments

Blather away, if you like.

