Lessons For Life, Don’t Let Them Drive You Crazy

Logic suggests accidents can be avoided, but some of us are determined to test logic to its limits.
Logic suggests accidents can be avoided, but some of us are determined to test logic to its limits.

Daily Prompt: Perspective

Think about something that drives you crazy. Now, think about something that makes you happy. Does it change your perspective?

When someone does something to drive you crazy that means they control you.

A lady driver pulled in front of me years ago. I stopped in plenty of time. My first reaction was ‘what an idiot.’ She suddenly looked up; you know the deer in the headlights look and gave me an apologetic look. I shrugged my shoulders as if to say ‘don’t worry about it.’

At the next light we were next to one another. She rolled down her window. “I’m sorry,” she said. “I looked, but didn’t see anyone.”

“That’s okay,” I said. “I’ve done it a few times myself.”

“Are you okay,” she said.

“Sure I am,” I said.

“I didn’t mean to do that,” she said.

“I know that,” I said. “Who really tries to run into people?”

“Thanks for being understanding,” she said.

“Next time it might be me who pulls in front of you,” I said.

“I’ll remember that,” she said.

“There’s no sense in getting upset at what others don’t do on purpose,” I said.

“We can all take that advice,” she said.

Unbeknownst to us the light changed. A car in the turning lane coming toward us saw the lady not moving and started to turn. The driver behind the lady laid on his horn because she wasn‘t moving after the light change. She panicked and accelerated into the intersection. She hit the turning car.

She sprung from her car and cursed me as I drove by.

I learned some lessons. No amount of kindness will change people. Kindness generally only helps the person being kind. And some people are going to have a bad day no matter what you do. Some people get what they deserve even at the expense of others. Never react to things behind because it can blind you to the things in front.

Do you think I should have told her what I learned or would that have been rubbing it in?

What drives other bloggers crazy:

  1. Pitch Perspective | The Magic Black Book
  2. Daily Prompt: Perspective | Under the Monkey Tree
  3. Perspectives | Kate Murray
  4. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Perspective – Love
  5. Perspective | James Clegg
  6. Random Experiment Time | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  7. CLOWNS DRIVE ME CRAZY | seifsalamakarem
  8. Sorry, distracted by my happy place… | thoughtsofrkh
  9. The Legion | vicariously in love with you
  10. alienorajt
  11. Lessons For Life, Don’t Let Them Drive You Crazy | The Jittery Goat
  12. Daily Prompt: Perspective | crookedeyebrows
  13. moodling onward | sarahscapes
  14. Daily Prompt: Perspective | Awl and Scribe
  15. Silly Little Prompt | CombatBabe
  16. Red Needles (Perspective) | photo potpourri
  17. Absolutely Bonkers | sayanything
  18. writemybrainsout
  19. From There to Here | Anniemation Floe
  20. Puzzling Perspective | Finale to an Entrance
  21. Daily Prompt: Perspective – Love | thoughts and entanglements
  22. Daily Post: Perspective | Through the Eye of Bastet
  23. Perspective | Braised Pork on Rice
  24. Gloom | Flowers and Breezes
  25. Daily Post: Perpective – Haiku | Bastet and Sekhmet’s Library
  26. Daily Prompt: Perspective | Death’s Opinions On Life
  27. Tickling… | Haiku By Ku
  28. Daily Prompt: Perspective | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  29. PERSPECTIVE IS WHERE YOU’RE COMING FROM | SERENDIPITY
  30. My How Times Have Changed | Cheri Speak
  31. Perspective | Kansa Muse
  32. The plumber | Life is great
  33. The Daily Prompt: (Perspective) — A Drive past Diepsloot | Nicki
  34. DP Challenge, Perspective: The Baby Who Did Not Stand Much Chance « Morning Pages
  35. “Perspective” | Relax
  36. 223. Perspective | Barely Right of Center
  37. Perspective Minus The Judgment | Kelly Kuhn
  38. The Land of Inequality: UK or USA? | vic briggs
  39. Perspective | Lost in Translation
  40. Daily Prompt: Perspective | Basically Beyond Basic
  41. Perspective | A mom’s blog
  42. Just be happy | Processing the life
  43. daily prompt: perspective (and…happiness) | hugmamma’s MIND, BODY and SOUL
  44. Perspective: Turning Back | Rolbos ©
  45. Perspective | Randomness Expressed
  46. /pəˈspɛktɪv/ atheism vs religion | nanopod: hybrid studio
  47. Fallen fancy | shame
  48. Perspectives | CurTales
  49. Crazy cat lady you say? | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  50. Wonder Wednesday: It’s All in How You Look at It! | Light Words
  51. Avatar – A fictional truth | Historiefortelling
  52. Persperctive | Hope* the happy hugger
  53. What’s Your: Perspective #photography #poetry | Moondustwriter’s Blog
  54. A Little Perspective | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  55. A different perspective? | Words ‘n Pics
  56. The Way I See It…..(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  57. Is there enough time? | tjbarkerseattle
  58. My idea is that perspective is a tool . . . | Rob’s Surf Report
  59. Confessions of a Monogrammed Runner | What Grinds My Gears
  60. Details of Life | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  61. Crazily Normal | BuzzStop

22 comments

  1. What a poignant moment, just waiting all this time for the right prompt! Thanks for sharing – I was so enthralled with your side-by-side conversation I, too, was broadsided by the sudden confusion with the light change. Sadly, as you learned, no amount of understanding on your part would translate to her until/unless she was open to it.

  2. Wow! Crazy occurrence. Seems something else might have been going on in the woman’s life. You just happened to step into it at an inopportune moment. Strange how lives intersect…

  3. Nah – I say letting it be was good – and there is no need to get too upset about things that aren’t unintentional because we do all have those off moments.

Blather away, if you like.

