The Christians Thought I Was A Heathen, But Jesus Thought I Was A Hoot

Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion

Tell us about a time when you felt out of place.

I was likely five years old when this happened. I stayed the weekend with my cousin and we went to Sunday school together. To begin with I felt like a pair of brown shoes and white socks with a tuxedo. I had never been to Sunday school.

There was little clue in my mind what Sunday school was all about. My aunt told me it was where I can learn about Jesus.

My cousin seemed to know the ropes so I made my mind up early to do whatever he did. I was hoping he had a good relationship with Jesus.

The teacher called the roll. Everyone said either “here” or “present.” I knew what “here” was, but “present” had me stymied. I wasn’t sure what was meant. I thought they were saying “present” as in a gift and I didn’t bring anything. I had nothing to give. Why didn’t my cousin tell me to bring something?

My cousin said “present.” Smart-aleck, he would have to pick the one I wasn‘t sure of.

When the teacher called my name I swallowed hard. “Is it okay if I bring something next week.”

The class snickered like I was an idiot. The teacher looked at me as if purposely introducing a false doctrine (laughter) into her class. I sat there like a criminal in stocks. My cousin scooted away from me. My first experience at Sunday school and shunned, must be a record. I must by a wretched soul.

We concluded by singing Jesus Loves Me. I didn’t know the words, but I was sure he was laughing and slapping his knee.

More confused bloggers:

  1. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion
  2. Confusion | The Magic Black Book
  3. Another Confusion Prompt: Kafkaesque | The Magic Black Book
  4. Part 1 – Knowing of Not Knowing | Shiwanidoez
  5. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  6. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Under the Monkey Tree
  7. Kafkaesque | The Magic Black Book
  8. Confusion is my middle name… | The Rider
  9. “Land of Confusion” | Relax
  10. Silence in the Metro | MC’s Whispers
  11. Sunlight on the curtains | Haiku Photography
  12. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Anniemation Floe
  13. How old will you be when you figure out what today is? | theclocktowersunset
  14. НЕКОИ МАЛИ НЕШТА ПИСАТЕЛСКИ
  15. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | I Want To Disappear
  16. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Taking time, making time
  17. I can’t touch you | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  18. This booty don’t shake like a pro. | thoughtsofrkh
  19. Land of the Creepers | sayanything
  20. Confusion | thinkerscap
  21. Land of Confusion | The Nameless One
  22. Through a Telescope | Badkarmosity
  23. Daily prompt: Land of confusion | ferwam
  24. Studeren en sociale contacten: nog steeds verbaasd | autitekst
  25. Daily Prompt: Out Of Place In This Land Of Confusion | My Daily Prompt Blog
  26. Land of Confusion | Finale to an Entrance
  27. 222. Dazed and Confused | Barely Right of Center
  28. SO RE-IRRI-LAT-ABLE.. | ayimas
  29. Frail looking man | crookedeyebrows
  30. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Awl and Scribe
  31. Daily Prompt ~ Standing Out in Confusion | Misifusa’s Blog
  32. Path to Nowhere | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  33. Soulful Poet… | Haiku By Ku
  34. Guest Post Q&A: A Lifetime Struggle With Mental Illness | Momma Roars
  35. lost | not4faintheartsblog
  36. Bizarre | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  37. Moon and Sun Meet | Love The Bees
  38. Daily Prompt – Matters of Confusion | My Gap Year Adventure
  39. TURN WHERE? WHEN? WHY? | SERENDIPITY
  40. The lecture | Life is great
  41. Lost Among the Canels | Kansa Muse
  42. I’m Confused | Flowers and Breezes
  43. There’s a Place for Me
  44. Of Course I’m Confused… | Just Visiting This Planet
  45. A Poem: Land of Confusion (The Wedding) | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  46. Out-of-place confusion | See Diving
  47. DAILY PROMPT Challenge: ~~ LAND OF CONFUSION ~~ Living in RECOVERY & With Mental & Emotional Disorders ~~ Challenge Accepted! | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  48. Daily Prompt: Confusion | Words ‘n Pics
  49. Feminist Nutcrackers Confuse Me….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  50. Undo | JC Bride ~
  51. Daily Prompt: Underdressed? | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  52. Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  53. Confusion | words. image. disconnecting. | marsowords
  54. Lipstick and LithiumBipolar-Forced Residency in the Land of Confusion
  55. Surfer Rob’s overactive, timid beastie | Rob’s Surf Report
  56. Land of Confusion | Kate Murray
  57. MOVING MEANS CHANGE | Emotional Fitness

28 comments

  1. Oh, I felt for you. I’ve been there too. I can remember as a small child sitting in Sunday school and crying because I wanted my mommy (or my sisters who were across the hallway). That’s my only memory of Sunday school– well that and coloring some. Sad, huh?

  2. It made me laugh too. I can understand you. I had similar experiences in school because I didn’t know the language. Lots of misunderstandings like this one you describe here.

  3. Oh man, I once dated a Catholic girl and so I had to go through a couple of mass ceremonies on different holidays, and I can only sympathise with your plight as I felt exactly the same way. If it wasn’t the chanting in Latin, it was the procession, the communion, the recession, et al. If I had been raised in that faith I’m sure I would have had a handle on it but I pretty much wanted to be skiing the whole time, and I have no idea how to ski.

Blather away, if you like.

