Rives Junction, Michigan; The Jittery Goat Travel Log – Places I’ve Been

232323232%257Ffp53386%253Enu%253D3248%253E%253A55%253E435%253EWSNRCG%253D34369768%253C8325nu0mrj_full[1]At the insistence of my friend, who will remain anonymous, but anyway Roger said I should write about Rives Junction, Michigan. I quickly dismissed the suggestion because Rives Junction is too big, but on second thought it is just right.

Right smack-dab in the middle of town is one of the best meat markets I’ve ever gone to. They make a bean soup that is as good as it is simple. They have a variety of outstanding sausages, but lousy coffee and stale Honey Buns.

There appears to be several substantial, yet small manufacturing companies in Rives Junction. I stopped in to one of them and asked, “What do you manufacture?”

The receptionists gave me a three teeth smile, “Stuff.”

There is also a monastery in Rives Junction. After reading the preceding link I still don’t understand why Rives Junction was selected as a location for a monastery.

Out of curiosity I went to the monastery and asked what they did there? A very nice nun said, “We devote our lives to prayer and make stuff.”

“The place down the road makes stuff too,” I said.

“Yeah, but you don’t get any prayers with their stuff,” the nun said.

“What do you pray for?’ I said.

“Good stuff,” the nun said.

I went back to the first place and said to the three teethed lady, “Do you know they make stuff down at the monastery and offer a prayer with it?”

“It’s a marketing gimmick,” she said.

4 comments

Blather away, if you like.

