There’s Something Inspiring About Squirrels

I go to squirrels for inspiration.
I go to squirrels for inspiration.

Daily Prompt: The Golden Hour

6:00AM: the best hour of the day, or too close to your 3:00AM bedtime?

This morning it was 5:25 AM when I got up. That’s sleeping in for me. I like getting up early.

There is a rhythm to morning. It’s pleasant to observe. It starts with nature and moves into the material world, but it’s good, refreshing, and natural.

My rhythm is to start the coffee and toast a bagel.

Even when working at a factory, that I didn’t enjoy, the mornings were good. Most generally I walked into work happy.

This was an experience when arriving at work one morning:

Bill and I pulled into the parking lot at the factory the same time next to one another.

We got out of our cars at the same time.

“Hey, how ya doin’, Bill,” I said smiling.

He sort of grunted and walked on as if I wasn’t there.

“Bill,” I said concerned. “What’s wrong?”

“Nothin’” Bill said. “Except you white people.”

“Now what did we do,” I said.

“Ya’ll so happy in the morning,” Bill said. “It’s not natural.”

I smiled. Bill tried to smile.

As writer, the most productive time is early morning. The earlier out of bed the better.

My mental vision of a writer was always an unshaved guy with a cigarette hanging from his lips, sitting at a marred desk with an old typewriter, a nearly empty bottle of cheap booze, a shot glass, and pounding away at the keyboard one creative thought after another and the clock on the wall read a quarter till three.

I had a Guinness at 8:30 last night and the only inspiring thought was to empty my bladder before stumbling into bed at half past nine.

6:00 AM has always been good for me. It’s the start of a new day, new circumstances, challenges, joys, and thoughts. I like to meet each day the way the natural world does; like the squirrels who rumble across my roof, scurry down the tree outside my window, and prance and play in the yard.

13 comments

  1. Yes, the earlier the better. I like to wake up early as well, about the same time, 5:30 am. By the way, I just noticed that Galapagos Man is available, will check it out.

    • Thanks for reading and replying, Finally got of my lazy duff and finished it.
      I was struggling with having a splash ending and suddenly remembered life does not have splash endings and remembered I don’t even like splash endings. So instead of a splash I just dropped a small pebble.

Blather away, if you like.

