Things That Are, Are Better Than What Could Have Been And Never Was

Port Clyde, Maine
Port Clyde, Maine

Daily Prompt: Express Yourself

Tell us about a time you couldn’t quite get your words or images to express what you wanted to express. What do you think the barrier was? For bonus points, try again.

Once I traveled to a place dreamt about over and over as a boy. It was on a fishing dock in Port Clyde, Maine. A sadness came over me that could not be reasoned. It was as if being robed of something that was mine to possess.

Looking out at the small fishing and lobster boats tied to the docks and anchored in the harbor I nearly wept. The smell and sound of the harbor and sea beaconed me like a lover that never was. That girl too perfect to ask for a dance. The fear of rejection overwhelms the ability to try. Suddenly after many years you find out she felt the same for you as you did for her; a love that should have been that never was.

It was as if someone stole your happiness.

I dug in my billfold and pulled out my family picture; all of that would have been impossible. My standing on that dock became a selfish folly not to be traded for even a glimpse into a world that would not exist or like a girl who would not give the time of day.

The life we have is often so much better than the life we dreamed and that goes for girls too.

22 comments

  1. indeed. There is nothing more painful than a regret but I always tell myself it was not meant to be if I never have the courage to go through with what ever i do not have the guts to do.haha!

  2. Oh my gosh this reminds me SO SO SO much of my favorite short story. It’s called “The Dukes Children” by Frank O’Connor. I don’t know if it is available online anywhere but it is so so so about this same experience/feeling/realization.
    Loved this post, well written and lovely 🙂

Blather away, if you like.

