Advice: Be Careful Who First You Share Good News

I'm not in this picture.
I’m not in this picture.

Daily Prompt: Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

You get some incredibly, amazingly, wonderfully fantastic news. What’s the first thing you do?

When one receives good news a procedure automatically goes into place. Your emotions take over. You automatically think of the person who means most to you. That is the person who you tell your good news first. Sometimes that is not always possible, but the first response is; I can’t wait to tell the number one person in my life.

For most that is a spouse. In my situation it is my wife. The brain begins to intellectually assess those who are the ones most happy to hear your good news. The brain works at lightening speed and begins to place people in an order. Based on what your relationship is with each person the brain figures out if that good news would be something they appreciate.

After the broadcast of good news all your friends and relatives can argue over who you told first. Suddenly that good news you has become a source of bitterness between family and friends. They all become enemies of each other and all because you couldn’t help from blabbing about something.

Send an email and text to everyone at the same time. Avoid the emotional turmoil.

Friends, Fools, And Good News

“Thanks for taking me out to lunch,” Eric said to Roger as the waitress finished taking their orders. “What‘s the occasion?’

“Did you hear our buddy, Kenton, is about to receive the Nobel Prize for literature this year?” Roger said.

“Yes, I was the first to hear,” Eric said.

“No, it was me,” Roger said.

“Actually,” Eric said. “It was me. He said he just got off the phone with a Swedish guy on the Nobel committee.”

“Than you should buy,” Roger said. “Besides the prize is Norwegian.”

Just as Eric and Roger glower at one another Dave walks into the restaurant and sits at the table with them.

“Hey,” Dave says. “Why don’t you guys go together and buy me a lunch?”

“Why?” They both said barely being able to hold a tone of civility.

“I’m not in the best of modes right now,” Eric said.

“Me too,” Roger said. “I invited Eric for lunch to celebrate Kenton’s good news. He is going to be awarded the Nobel Prize for literature. I’m buying because I was the first he shared the news with and Eric insists he was the first.”

“So why should we buy you lunch?” Eric said.

“You‘re the first guys I‘ve told this to,” Dave said. “A month ago I called Kenton. I had this phony Swedish accent and told him I was on the Nobel committee and informed him he was going to win the Nobel Prize for literature.”

“I thought the Nobel was Norwegian,” Eric said.

“Maybe it’s Danish,” Roger said. “I get all those blond people mixed up.”

“It‘s Norwegian,” Dave said. “But the NO BELL (ding, ding) is Swedish. I just got off the phone with him talking in the same Swedish, Norwegian or Finnish accent. I told him he won the NO BELL prize for literature because nothing he writes rings with anybody.” Dave started laughing. “Isn’t that the funniest thing you ever heard?”

“I wasn’t fooled for a moment,” Eric said. “His writing is terrible.”

“Me neither,” Roger said. “But he fooled me before he fooled you.”

21 comments

  1. We totally do this in my family– I have 4 sister in laws who are constantly rotating on having babies and I absolutely insist on being the first to know when each of them is pregnant. I’m the favorite aunt, that’s how it’s supposed to be. Naturally, I am sure to rub this in everyone’s faces.

  2. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok.

    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

Blather away, if you like.

