Michelle W. Is A Genius.

images[4]Daily Prompt: Honorific

October 16th is officially declared “Person X Day” — and you get to pick Person X. Tell us about someone who deserves to be commemorated.

Michelle W is ahead of her time.

She has struck upon a capital idea; take every day that is named for someone and call it Person X Day. It can be who ever you want.

Naming a day after someone does what? Sure I know all the politicians who want a reason for giving a speech or preachers who want to give a sermon will have to frame some other sort of mischief. They will then have to be creative, but they’ll have all year to cook something up.

We used to have Washington’s and Lincoln’s birthday and now we just have President’s day to sort of roll them all together in one. Think about it when we have President’s day we are even honoring Millard Fillmore and Chester Arthur.

In fact, any special day named for a person will be moved to Person X Day. That presents a problem for the long-held holiday of Christmas, but hasn’t it been abbreviated to Xmas in the past. Besides since nobody knew the birthday of Christ anyway didn’t some inventive zealots just arbitrarily assign it to December 25 which was already known to the Roman world as Dies Natalis of Sol Invictus (Return of the Unconquerable Sun).

I’m certain the detractors of this forward-thinking idea will argue that having a day about a person allows us to reflect upon what that person stood for and in some way project that into our own miserable lives. My counter argument is, how’s it worked so far?

That reminds me of an incident that happened many years ago. It was Martin Luther King Day and our company’s policy was to give everyone and excused absence from work on that day. Of perhaps the 50 black employees only about 5 took the day off in the past. I requested the day off.

“But you’re not black,” the foreman said.

“Thanks a lot,” I said. “Now I have to cancel my subscription to Ebony.”

“Nice try,” the foreman said. “But that holiday is only for black employees.”

“But the good doctor, struggled, suffered, and marched for us all,” I said.

“I’m sorry, but you have to be black,” the foreman said.

“Where is that written?” I said.

“It doesn’t have to be written,” the foreman said. “It just is.”

I went to the civil rights arbiter of our local union.

“But you ain’t black,” he said.

“That’s the second time today somebody has busted my bubble,” I said. “Don’t you people have any shame.”

“You are trying to make a mockery out of the day,” he said.

“To the contrary,” I said. “You and my foreman are by saying the day is only for blacks. Martin Luther King was not a racist and you and my foreman are making him one.”

My next stop was our human resources manager who chuckled after I told him about my conversations with my foreman and civil rights arbiter. He granted me the day off.

Let’s just have a Person X day and it can be who ever we want it to be. In memory of the event that happened with my foreman and my local union civil rights arbiter I’m going to call it Malcolm X day. What a cool movie!

16 comments

  1. Haha– my degree is in African American Studies and that’s usually the first response I get: “But… you’re not black.” That doesn’t mean the history isn’t valuable and important to study!

Blather away, if you like.

